3 reelectionist mayors 'lost' in polls

ONLY three reelectionist mayors all over Negros Occidental lost in the just concluded May 13 national and local elections.

Based on partial and unofficial results all over the province, Isabela incumbent Mayor Joselito Malabor (NUP) lost to his challenger Irene Consunji Montilla (NPC), who is a neophyte politician and wife of the late mayor Enrique Montilla.

Malabor lost to Montilla by only a margin of 48 votes.

Incumbent Fifth District Representative Alejandro Mirasol (Lakas-CMD) succeeded in redeeming the mayorship of Binalbagan to former political ally and incumbent Mayor Manuel Aranda.

Mirasol's wife, Mary Ann, lost to Aranda in 2016.

Moises Padilla incumbent Mayor Magdaleno Pena also lost to his challenger, incumbent Vice Mayor Ella Garcia-Yulo, for the mayorship.

Garcia's running mate, Ian Villaflor, also won for vice mayor.

In Himamaylan City, the decade rule of the Bascons in the city has ended with the victory of Raymond Tongson for mayorship against incumbent Vice Mayor Carminia Bascon.

Incumbent mayors who got reelected are Bago City Mayor Nicholas Yulo, Candoni Mayor Ceciro Borromeo, Cauayan Mayor John Rey Tabujara, E.B. Magalona Mayor Marvin Malacon, Hinigaran Mayor Jose Nadie Arceo, Hinoba-an Mayor Ernesto Estrao, La Carlota Mayor Jacky Jalandoni, La Castellana Mayor Rhumyla Manguilimutan, Pulupandan Mayor Miguel Antonio Pena, Sagay City Mayor Alfredo "Thirdy" Marañon, Salvador Benedicto Mayor Marxlen Dela Cruz, San Enrique Mayor Jilson Tubillara, Silay City Mayor Mark Andrew Golez, Talisay City Mayor Nilo Antonio Lizares, Toboso Mayor Richard Jaojoco, Valladolid Mayor Enrique Miravelles and Victorias City Mayor Francis Frederick Palanca.

Other mayors who won the election are Cadiz City Mayor Salvador Escalante Jr., Calatrava Mayor Marilyn Era, Escalante City Mayor Melecio Yap, Ilog Mayor John Paul Alvarez, Kabankalan City Mayor Pedro Zayco, San Carlos City Mayor Renato Gustilo and Sipalay City Mayor Maria Gina Lizares.

Some of the winners were already proclaimed.

Of the winning mayors, 16 belong to the United Negros Aliiance (Unega), while 15 are members of Love-Negros.

Waiting for the proclamation are Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson and Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer.

For members of the House of Representatives in the six congressional districts waiting for proclamation are Gerardo Valmayor for the First District, Leo Rafael Cueva for the Second District, Francisco Benitez for the Third District, Juliet Marie Ferrer for the Fourth District, Maria Lourdes Arroyo- Lesaca for the Fifth District and Genaro Alvarez for the Sixth District.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!