PDP-Laban conquers Davao del Norte

CANDIDATES of the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) swept all the hotly contested positions in the recently-concluded midterm elections in Davao del Norte.

The election result paves way to the change of leadership by famous politicians in the area who have been dominating the province for decades.

As of Tuesday afternoon, May 14, candidates who earned the highest votes in Davao del Norte have not been declared as official winner.

As of 3:50 p.m., based on the partial and unofficial tally of the Commission on Elections (Comelec), the controversial former House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez garnered 163,977 votes against his rival, Anthony del Rosario who only earned 68,193 votes for the first district representative of the province.

In second district, Aldu Dujali beat his rival earning 125,170 votes against a more popular Antonio “Tonyboy” Floirendo Jr., who only garnered 92,679 votes.

In the gubernatorial position of the province, Edwin Jubahib got 279,222 votes against opponent, Rodolfo del Rosario Jr., who only got 169,363 votes.

Rey Uy, meanwhile, won as vice governor garnering 268,264 votes against Raymond Joey Millan who only got 140,151 votes.

The results are based from the tally as of 2:50 p.m. Tuesday, May 14 which comprises 99.50 percent of election returns transmitted from 741 to 744 clustered precincts.

“Ang akong kadaugan, kadaugan sa katawhan sa Davao del Norte, labi na sa hut-ong sa mga kabus (My victory, is the victory of the people of Davao del Norte, especially the poor),” Jubahib said in a message to Superbalita Davao Tuesday.

He extended his gratitude to the people of Davao del Norte for their support and love for the province.

“Akong saad akong tumanon para maangkon na sa katawhan ang dugay na nilang gipangandoy nga serbisyo sa Davao del Norte. Utang kabubut-on nako sa katawhan nga dili nako makalimtan (I will fulfill my provises of quality service for the people of Davao del Norte. I owe this to people),” Jubahib said.

Meanwhile, Al David Uy of PDP-Laban still leads with 40,192 votes against his rival, Orly Amit of HNP who has 14,920 for Mayor of the Island Garden City of Samal, (Igacos).

PDP-Laban candidate Allan Rellon will still sit as mayor of Tagum City as he garnered 91,368 votes against 20,889 votes for Geterito Gementiza.

Eva Estabillo of PDP-Laban wins as Vice Mayor as she got 77,790 votes while Engr. Jun Coquilla, her opponent, only got 28,083 votes.

Jayvee Tyron Uy and Maricar Zamora will still be the governor and the vice governor, respectively, since they were running unopposed. Both of them are candidates of Hugpong Ng Pagbabago (HNP).

For Congress in the first district, Way Kurat Zamora of the HNP garnered 61,120 as of 2:50 p.m. Tuesday while Franco Tito only got 58,953 votes; in 2nd District, Ruwel Peter Gonzaga of PDP-Laban will still sit in Congress as he run unopposed.

Elections in Davao del Norte were generally peaceful.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!