Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Remaining winners in Cebu City poll race proclaimed

CEBU. The Cebu City Board of Canvassers formally proclaimed the winning candidates for city councilor in the city's South District namely (from left to right) Philip Zafra of Barug PDP-Laban, Dondon Hontiveros of Barug PDP-Laban, Eugenio Gabuya, Jr. of Bando Osmena Pundok Kauswagan, Antonio Cuenco of Barug PDP-Laban, David Tumulak of BOPK, Renato Osmeña Jr. of Barug PDP-Laban, Eduardo Rama, Jr. of Barug PDP-Laban and Raul “Yayoy” Alcoseba of BOPK. (From Edu Rama's official Facebook page)

THE remaining winning candidates in Cebu City have been proclaimed late Tuesday, May 14, after a few hours of delay due to damaged SD cards in one of the city's clustered precincts.

Winners in Cebu City' South District include Dondon Hontiveros of Barug PDP-Laban, David Tumulak of Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan, Eduardo Rama Jr. of Barug PDP-Laban, Eugenio Gabuya, Jr. of BOPK, Renato Osmeña Jr. of Barug PDP-Laban, Raul “Yayoy” Alcoseba of BOPK, Philip Zafra of Barug PDP-Laban and Antonio Cuenco of Barug PDP-Laban.

The winning councilors in the south district were proclaimed by the Cebu City Board of Canvassers after all results were transmitted.

Local poll officials have to wait for the result in one clustered precinct in Barangay Labangon after a SD card in one of the Vote Counting Machines (VCMs) deployed there was damaged.

The electoral board of the said precinct has to feed all the ballots again when the SD card wad repaired.

Cebu City Rep. Rodrigo Abellanosa was also proclaimed as the winning Cebu City South District representative.

On the same day, the Cebu City Board of Canvassers also proclaimed the newly- elected city councilors in the city's North District.

They are Nestor Archival of BOPK with 124,466 votes, Prisca Niña Mabatid of Barug PDP-Laban with 113,908 votes, Joy Young of BOPK with 112,707 votes, Lea Japson of BOPK with 106,218 votes, Sisinio Andales of BOPK with 106,185 votes, Alvin Arcilla of BOPK with 102,911 votes and Raymond Alvin Garcia of Barug PDP-Laban with 101,578 votes.

Rep. Raul del Mar, who won his reelection bid for congressman of Cebu City's North District, was also proclaimed.

Lawyer Chauncey Boholst, chairman of the Board of Canvassers said that as of Tuesday afternoon, May 14, not all winners were proclaimed since there is still one clustered precinct that has yet to transmit the results.

“Although it will no longer affect the results in the position of mayor and vice mayor, we still have to wait for the result in one clustered precinct in Labangon because it will affect the rankings of the councilors-elect in the south district,” he said.

Lawyer Marchel Sarno, election officer in the south district said Mabatid and Zafra who are both barangay captains will be replaced by their respective first councilors.

“It will be up to DILG to appoint but its really the first councilor who will replaced the barangay captain once they assume office in the City Council,” he said.

Meanwhile, Mayor-elect Edgardo Labella promised an inclusive and reconciliatory kind of governance to the Cebuanos after he was officially proclaimed as the winner in the mayoral race in the city on Tuesday, May 14.

On the first few days of his term, Labella said he will call for a meeting with the members of the City Council to work on the executive- legislative agenda and a command conference with the police force in the city.

“I am thankful to the people of the City of Cebu for giving me this mandate and of course, thank God, for the opportunity to serve the people of the City of Cebu. For me this is not just power but responsibility and I hope all the people of Cebu will help me, I can’t do this alone,” he told reporters.

Labella of Barug-PDP Laban won the mayoralty race with 265,436 votes, while Osmeña of BOPK, who is the sitting mayor, got 246,399 votes.

His running mate, former mayor Michael Rama, was elected as vice mayor with 261,381 votes, edging Mary Ann delos Santos who got 234,615 votes.

Labella said he is even willing to work with Osmeña particularly on the matters concerning the South Road Properties and his allied barangay officials.

As BOPK councilors are expected to dominate the City Council, Labella said he is hopeful that they will have a fruitful executive and legislative undertaking.

“Because the election is already over, I will reach out, extend my hands to them,” he said.

Labella, who currently presides the City Council being the sitting vice mayor, said he will need the help of the legislative department, particularly on his plan to execute a deed of donation whenever the City gives vehicles to the police and barangays.

Labella said he will also reach out to the local police.

“It is important that we agree on things and we understand each other with the PNP especially in the enforcement of laws and the preservation of peace and harmony in the city. I will call for a command conference immediately as soon as I assume office,” Labella said. (RVC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!