Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Gwen, Davide expect proclamation today

CEBU. Representative Gwendolyn Garcia (Amper Campaña)

TWO days after the midterm elections on May 13, Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia (Cebu, 3rd district) and Cebu Gov. Hilario Davide III are still waiting for their formal proclamation as governor-elect and vice governor-elect, respectively.

At 1:50 p.m. Wednesday, May 15, Acting Provincial Election Supervisor Jerome Brillantes, the Provincial Board of Canvassers chairman, declared a recess pending the transmission of votes from Toledo City after its Secure Digital (SD) card was broken.

The city has 117,150 registered voters. Garcia said she will wait for these votes to be transmitted before her formal proclamation, which is set at 11 a.m. Thursday, May 16, at the Capitol’s social hall.

Her younger brother Pablo John, who won the third district’s congressional seat, will be proclaimed along with her.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) Cebu did not receive word from Davide regarding his attendance to his proclamation.

As of 5 p.m. Wednesday, Garcia had secured 844,291 votes against gubernatorial candidate and outgoing Vice Gov. Agnes Magpale, who got 569,071 votes.

Davide received 737,465 votes in the vice gubernatorial race against Garcia’s running mate, Daphne Salimbangon, who got 597,350.

In Cebu City, the remaining winning candidates in the south district were proclaimed at 11 p.m. Tuesday, May 14, after a few hours of delay due to a damaged SD card in one of the clustered precincts.

The candidates are from opposing parties Barug Partido Demokratiko Pilipino–Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) and Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan (BOPK).

The south district councilors-elect are Dondon Hontiveros (Barug PDP-Laban), David Tumulak (BOPK), Eduardo Rama Jr. (Barug PDP-Laban), Eugenio Gabuya Jr. (BOPK), Renato Osmeña Jr. (Barug PDP-Laban), Raul “Yayoy” Alcoseba (BOPK), Philip Zafra (Barug PDP-Laban) and Antonio Cuenco (Barug PDP-Laban).

They were proclaimed by the Cebu City Board of Canvassers (CCBC) after all results were transmitted.

Before proceeding with the proclamation, the CCBC had waited for the result from one clustered precinct in Barangay Labangon after an SD card of a vote counting machine (VCM) was damaged.

The electoral board of the said precinct had to feed all the ballots in the VCM again after the SD card was repaired.

Rep. Rodrigo Abellanosa was also proclaimed as the winning south district representative.

Cebu City’s incoming mayor, Vice Mayor Edgardo Labella (Barug PDP-Laban), said he would call for a meeting with the members of the council to work on his agenda. He will also hold a command conference with the city’s police.

“For me this is not just power, but a responsibility. And I hope that all the people of Cebu will help me; I can’t do this alone,” he told reporters.

Labella is willing to work with outgoing Mayor Tomas Osmeña, particularly on the matters concerning the South Road Properties.

Labella got 265,436 votes, while Osmeña received 246,399.

Both candidates were former allies.

Former mayor Michael Rama, Labella’s running mate, was elected vice mayor with 261,381 votes, edging out Mary Ann delos Santos who got 234,615 votes.

As BOPK councilors are expected to dominate the City Council, Labella said he will reach out to them.

Earlier on Tuesday, the CCBC proclaimed the newly elected councilors in the north district—Nestor Archival (BOPK), Prisca Niña Mabatid (Barug PDP-Laban), Joy Young (BOPK), Lea Japson (BOPK), Sisinio Andales (BOPK), Alvin Arcilla (BOPK) and Raymond Alvin Garcia (Barug PDP-Laban).

Rep. Raul del Mar (BOPK) was also proclaimed winner in the north district’s congressional race.

Acting Cebu City-South District Election Officer Marchel Sarno said Mabatid and Zafra, who are barangay captains in Mabolo and Tisa respectively, will be replaced by first councilors. (RTF, RVC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!