How did Cebu vote in Senate race

(SunStar file)

HOW did Cebu vote in the Senate and partylist races?

With over three million registered voters (including in the cities of Cebu and Lapu-Lapu), Cebu is the most vote-rich province in the country.

Since the campaign period for national candidates started on Feb. 12, senatorial bets and partylist groups have been wooing the 3,082,621 voters of Cebu.

As of 2 p.m. Wednesday, May 15, senatorial candidates from Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) and Nacionalista Party (NP) took the lead in Cebu based on partial, unofficial results.

Reelectionist Sen. Cynthia Villar of NP leads the top 12 senators in Cebu with 885,575 votes.

Following Villar by a margin of 24,967 votes is former presidential special assistant Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go of PDP-Laban with 860,608 votes.

Third on the partial, unofficial tally is NP candidate Rep. Pia Cayetano (Taguig City) with 791,392 votes.

Next on the list is former Philippine National Police director Gen. Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa of PDP-Laban with 784,758 votes.

Fifth on the list is independent candidate reelectionist Sen. Grace Poe with 664,910 votes.

Following Poe by a margin of 32,728 votes is fellow reelectionist Sen. Edgardo “Sonny” Angara of Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino with 632,182 votes.

Reelectionist Sen. Aquilino Martin “Koko” Pimentel III banners PDP-Laban, ranked seventh in Cebu with 618,065 votes.

Fellow PDP-Laban bet former Metro Manila Development Authority chairman Francis Tolentino got 582,188 votes, and was followed by Nationalist People’s Coalition candidate former senator Lito Lapid with 543,258 votes.

Cebuano former senator Sergio “Serge” Osmeña III, who is running independently, landed in 10th place in the partial and unofficial tally with 539,157 votes.

Following Osmeña is Ilocos Norte Gov. Maria Imelda Josefa “Imee” Marcos, with 469,204 votes.

Completing Cebu’s top 12 senators is Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats candidate former senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. with 468,649 votes.

Meanwhile, leading the top five partylist groups based on partial, unofficial results is Ako Bisaya with 125,119 votes.

Second on the list is Tulfo-led Anti-Crime and Terrorism Community Involvement and Support with 65,231 votes, followed by One Patriotic Coalition of Marginalized Nationals with 62,542 votes.

Next on the list is the Trade Union Congress Party with 56,770 votes, followed by Ang Probinsyano with 53,306 votes.

As of 5 p.m. Wednesday, the Provincial Board of Canvassers had yet to resume the canvassing of votes after its chairman, Acting Provincial Election Supervisor Jerome Brillantes declared a recess at 1:50 p.m. pending the transmission of votes from Toledo City.

Toledo City comprises 117,150 of the over three million registered voters in Cebu.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!