Tuesday, August 20, 2019

7 incumbents, 6 new mayors win in Benguet

BENGUET. Winning candidates in the municipality of La Trinidad were proclaimed Tuesday morning, May 14, led by incumbent Mayor Romeo Salda. (Photo by Lauren Alimondo)

AT LEAST seven incumbent and six newly–elected mayors from the 13 towns of Benguet won during the recent midterm elections.

Buguias Mayor Ruben Tinda-an and Kapangan Mayor Manny Fermin who were running unopposed, garnered 14,824 and 8,407 votes, respectively.

In Atok, mayor–elect Raymundo Sarac won with 4,047 votes against opponents Marso Lay-at and Arthur Vargas with 2,900 and 2,035 votes, respectively.

Bill Raymundo emerged victorious with 3,804 votes against incumbent Mayor Fausto Labinio (3,125) and Elmer Cambulo (891) in Bakun, the northeast town of the province.

In Bokod, incumbent Mayor Thomas Wales Jr. won with 4,522 votes against Rey Tello with 3,380.

In Kabayan, incoming Mayor Faustino Aquisan garnered 3,564 votes against incumbent mayor Gideon Todiano (2,116) and Alfonso Aroco (1,675).

For Kibungan town, incumbent Mayor Cesar Molintas won with 5,247 votes while Benito Siadto received 2,435 votes.

In La Trinidad, incumbent Mayor Romeo Salda won with 23,814 votes and was able to defend his post defeating his opponent incumbent Vice Mayor Joey Marerro with 8,187 votes.

In Mankayan, Frenzel Ayong won with 7,774 votes against Dario Banario (7,079), Tirso Tip-ac (421), and Segundo Bekesan (155).

Incumbent Mayor Materno Luspian, who recently completed his three terms, ran for Congress but fell against former Benguet Governor Nestor Fongwan Sr.

Itogon, another mining town in the province, incumbent Mayor Victorio Palangdan defended his post with 16,397 votes against Oscar Camantiles with 6,952.

In Sablan, Manuel Munar Jr. topped the mayoralty race with 2,822 votes against Leo Lawana with 2,750. Incumbent Mayor Arthur Baldo, run for vice mayor and won with 3,511.

In Tuba, incumbent Vice Mayor Clarita Sal-ongan emerged victorious with 11,475 versus incumbent Mayor Ignacio Rivera who received 7,611 votes.

In Tublay town, incumbent Mayor Armando Lauro garnered 6,331 votes versus Edward Cosalan with 2,084.

Benguet has the highest registered voters in the Cordillera Administrative Region. Some 176, 133 voted out of the 277, 033 registered voters in the province.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!