Libre: Cebu Siloy Music Awards Winners, Part 2

Seriously now

SO, IT is Visayan Music Awards (VizMa) instead of Vispop. The group aims to make this the biggest platform for songwriters and musicians to hone their craft. Another contributor towards the promotion of Bisaya artists and their music should be welcomed.

On the part of the Cebu Siloy Music Awards, the objective is to recognize the best Bisaya music artists and their publicly released recordings for each year. These are the rest of the nominees and the winners:

Best Vocal Performance, Duo or Group: Gerlyn Abano & Johnel Bucog, “Bisaya”; Intertwined, “Be Mine”; Mampor & Me featuring Jacky Chang “Uban Tang Duha”; Mandaue Nights, “First Kiss”; Pao Lofranco & Mitch Atacador, “Dvaoena”; Winset Jacot & Medyo Maldito, “Away Way Buwagay”; Wonggoys, “Way ‘Blema.”

Winner: If you haven’t heard of Intertwined, then you should listen to their song, “Be Mine,” and you’ll be blown away. This masterpiece builds up on you and Amanda Gabucan powers the song like no other. The horn section of the band perfectly complements her awesome rendition.

Best Rock/Reggae Performance: Emping, “Ania Ako”; Errorcheck, “Husto Na”; Franco, “Aurora Sunrise”; Geed Manfred Suaybaguio, “Gugmay’ng Way Libog”; Junior Kilat, “Shodi Abas”; Missing Filemon, “Hugot”; The Agadiers “Sobra Ka High.”

Winner: When I was handling “In the Raw” in NU107, there was this band called Frank whose music sounded different from the rest. Rechristened later as Franco led by Franco Reyes, the band has amalgamated rock and reggae to perfection. “Aurora Sunrise” demonstrates the confident vocals of Reyes and the superb musicality of the group, that definitely makes them one of the best in the Philippines.

Breakthrough Artist: Ferdinand Aragon, “Nagabarog”; Geed Manfred Suaybaguio, “Gugmay’ng Way Libog”; Gerlyn Abano, “Forever Na Ni”; Golden Cañedo, “Nakasabot Na Ko”; Errorcheck, “Husto Na”; Intertwined, “Be Mine”; Raphiel Shannon, “O.”

Winner: Intertwined. Champion in the Wanderland Festival in Manila, the Cebu-based jazz band, according to a Manila writer, “lit up the stage with harmonies that evoked a dazzling disco flourish.” Their video, “Be Mine,” directed by Kurt Fick, is a delight, and more so, their live performances.

To all the winners, Juan Karlos Labajo, Jewel Villaflores, Intertwined and Franco, and all of the nominees, congratulations! Continue creating original music and make us proud.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!