Love-Negros pulls in 17 of 31 mayors in NegOcc

BACOLOD. The Love Negros line up. (Contributed Photo/ SunStar file)

MAJORITY of the incoming Mayors of the 31 local government units in Negros Occidental belong to Love-Negros (LN).

Official results from the Commission on Elections shows that the LN mayors won in 17 of 31 local government units (LGUs) in the province.

They are Renato Gustilo of San Carlos City, Alfonso Baguio of Calatrava, Melicio Yap Jr. of Escalante City, Francis Frederick Palanca of Victorias City, Marvin Malacon of E.B. Magalona, Mark Golez of Silay City, Neil Antonio Lizares of Talisay City, Gerry Rojas of Murcia, Miguel Antonio Peña of Pulupandan, Enrique Miravalles of Valladolid, Nadie Arceo of Hinigaran, Irene Montilla of Isabela, Pedro Zayco of Kabankalan City, John Paul Alvarez of Ilog, John Ray Tabujara of Cauyan and Maria Gina Lizares of Sipalay City.

On the other hand, mayors of rival United Negros Alliance won in 14 LGUs.

They are Richard Jaojoco of Toboso, Marxlen dela Cruz of Salvador Benedicto, Alfredo Marañon III of Sagay City, Salvador Escalante of Cadiz City, Manuel Escalante of Manapla, Nicholas Yulo of Bago City, Jilson Tubillara of San Enrique, Jacky Jalandoni of La Carlota City, Rhumyla Nicor- Manguilimutan of La Castellana, Ella Garcia- Yulo of Moises Padilla, Alejandro Mirasol of Binalbagan, Raymond Tongson of Himamaylan City, Cicero Borromeo of Candoni and Ernesto Estrao of Hinobaan.

It also seems that LN has the numbers in the Provincial Board (PB) though its presiding officer Vice Governor-elect Jeffrey Ferrer is from Unega.

The LN has Board Members Rommel Debulgado and Araceli Somosa-1st; Manuel Frederick Ko and Andrew Montelibano- 3rd and Agustin Ernesto Bascon of the 5th district.

Ex officio members Juvy Pepillo of the Association of Barangay Captains and Pocholo Yuvinco of the Youth Council are also allied with LN. The Philippine Councilors League still has to choose a new president to sit in the PB.

For Unega, it has Board Members Samson Mirhan and Sixto Guanzon- 2nd; Jose Benito Alonso and Victor Javellana- 4th; Rita Gatuslao of the 5th and Valentino Miguel Alonso and Jeffrey Tubola- 6th district.

For district representatives, there were three from LN and four from United Negros Alliance.

Gerardo Valmayor of the 1st district, Francisco Benitez and Genaro Alvarez of the 6th district won it for LN while for Unega had Rafael Cueva of the 2nd district, Juliet Marie Ferrer of the 4th district and Ma.Lourdes Arroyo of the 5th district. (TDE)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!