All barangays will receive vehicles from City Hall: GSO

Cebu City Hall (SunStar file)

THE remaining 55 barangays in Cebu City will also get vehicles from the City Government, the General Services Office (GSO) assured.

GSO chief Ronald Malacora said they are processing the documents that will be submitted to the City Council to cover the donation.

The council will have to approve resolutions authorizing outgoing Mayor Tomas Osmeña to sign the deed of donation and acceptance with the respective barangay captains.

“We still have remaining vehicles for those barangays that will comprise the second batch because these vehicles are already in the possession of the barangays. Some vehicles are with the barangay captains while the others are with the barangay councilors. They just have to execute the deed of donation to transfer the ownership,” Malacora said.

He said these vehicles were distributed to the barangay officials even before and after his office conducted an inventory.

Timing, intention questioned

Malacora said the vehicles are mostly pickups.

Last Tuesday, May 21, the Council approved the resolutions of Councilor Sisinio Andales authorizing Osmeña to sign the deed of donation and acceptance for 25 barangay captains.

The move caught the opposition councilors by surprise. They questioned its timing and intention.

Councilor Pastor Alcover Jr. said the barangay vehicle donation is a program of Mayor-elect Edgardo Labella.

Councilor Raymond Garcia said the gesture is good, but the present administration should equitably distribute the vehicles.

The first batch of barangays that will receive the donated vehicles are Basak Pardo (two vehicles), Calamba (one), Guadalupe (four), Buhisan (one), Buot (three), Babag (one), Bulacao (one), Bonbon (one), Cogon Ramos (one), Carreta (one), Capitol Site (two), Kamputhaw (one), Busay (one), Binaliw (one), Banilad (two), Apas (two) and Agsungot (one); Barangays Day-as (one), Guba (one), Basak San Nicolas (one), Hipodromo (one), Lusaran (one), Kasambagan (three), Kalubihan (one) and Lahug (three).

All village chiefs of the first batch of recipients are allied with Osmeña’s Bando Osmeña Pundok Kauswagan save for the barangay captain of Basak San Nicolas. (RVC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!