Provincial Board to honor 6 exiting members

FOR serving the Cebu Provincial Government, six outgoing legislators will be recognized on June 24, 2019, in time for the turnover of power in the legislative department.

Outgoing Vice Gov. Agnes Magpale, and Provincial Board (PB) members Alex Binghay (third district), Sun Shimura (fourth district), Jude Thaddeus Sybico (fifth district), Glenn Bercede (sixth district) and Earl Tidy Oyas (an ex-officio member for being the Philippine Councilors League-Cebu’s president) will be acknowledged for their contributions to the PB.

Except for Magpale and Sybico, all the outgoing PB members will be assuming local posts on June 30.

Binghay and Shimura were elected as town mayors of Balamban and Daanbantayan, respectively.

For their part, Bercede and Oyas won the vice mayoral races in Mandaue City and Catmon town, respectively.

In an interview Friday, May 24, Provincial Information Officer Ainjeliz de la Torre-Orong said incoming vice governor and outgoing Gov. Hilario Davide III as well as the new set of PB members will also be present during the event.

First-time PB members are John Ismael Borgonia (third district), Kerrie Keane Shimura (fourth district), Andrei Duterte (fifth district) and Glenn Anthony Soco (sixth district).

Reelected PB members were Yolanda Daan and Raul Bacaltos (first district), Edsel Galeos and Jose Mari Salvador (second district), Victoria “Tata” Corominas-Toribio (third district), Horacio Paul Franco (fourth district), Miguel Antonio Magpale (fifth district), Thadeo Jovito Ouano (sixth district), and Jerome Christian Librando and Christopher Baricuatro (seventh district).

Orong said the incumbent PB members will present their achievements and accomplishments.

On July 1, the new PB will hold its inaugural session, during which the PB members will craft their new house rules and receive committee assignments.

Incoming governor and outgoing Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia (Cebu, 3rd district) is also expected to deliver her message to the legislative department during the session.

On June 10, Davide will meet with reelected and newly elected PB members to discuss the legislative agenda, committees and the rules in conducting a session.

As for the executive department, the turnover ceremony between Davide and Garcia will be held on June 28. (RTF)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!