MANILA -- The Tigresses swept the defending champions La Salle before 4,822 fans to walk away with a 14th crown Saturday night at the Arena in San Juan.

Skipper Aiza Maizo, veterans Ma. Angeli Tabquero, Maika Ortiz and rookies Maru Banaticla and Denise Santiago combined for half (45) of Tigresses' 91-point output to lead the charge for the returning champions.

La Salle took a third set rally but this was not enough to stop the Tigresses, who contained their rivals in other three sets.

Quarter scores showed 25-18, 25-14, 16-25, and 25-15 in the 92-minute action.

Veteran Rhea Katrina Dimaculangan was honored Finals MVP who is known for her leadership skills just like his brother, Tigers team captain Ray Karl.

Both Rhea and Ray Karl finished with three hits for their separate clincher games.

The Tigresses of coach Cesael delos Santos held an advantage over La Salle after nipping their rival in Game 1 last Wednesday.

For the record, the Tigresses made a sweep of all the major women’s volleyball tournament in the country starting with the National University Games last October in Iloilo and the Shakey’s V-League which they also swept the last two conferences last November.

Abigail Maraño and Jacqueline Alarca combined for 20 points to lead the losing cause of the former two-time champions.

Earlier, the Tiger Spikers blanked out rival Far Eastern University to take home the España-based squad's 18th UAAP men's volleyball crown. (Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)