Capitol hails top taxpayers, performing LGUs

CONTRIBUTING to the economic growth of this agricultural province, the top business taxpayers and outstanding local government units in treasury services were recognized in a ceremony held at the Iloilo Provincial Capitol Wednesday, June 19.

These top taxpayers and performing municipal governments were behind the high tax collection efficiency rate of Iloilo in 2018 which resulted to P229-million increase in real property tax collection.

Iloilo registered a high tax efficiency rate of 107.23% in 2018 by collecting a total of P786.23-million compared to P733.24-million target set by the Bureau of Local Government Finance of the Department of Finance.

In 2017, Iloilo only collected P557.20-million or 89.54% of the P622.28-million target collection.

These top real property taxpayers in 2018 were the following:

1. Palm Concepcion Power Corp. (P8.03-million)

2. Universal Robina Corp. (P6.79-million)

3. Property Company of Friends (P5.23-million)

4. SPC Island Power Corp. (P4.98-million)

5. First Pacific Fortune Commercial (P4.50-million)

For business taxpayers, the top five in 2018 were:

1. Property Company of Friends (P11.73-million)

2. Coca-Cola Bottlers Femsa Phils. Inc. (P11.25-million)

3. Palm Concepcion Power Corp. (P8.73-million)

4. 8990 Housing Development Corp. (P8.09-million)

5. Pepsi Cola Products Phils. Inc. (P4.92-million)

The top performers in realty tax collection were the municipalities of Pavia (Category A) and Concepcion (Category B). The municipality of Calinog was the top performer in the prompt remittance of provincial tax shares, Mina for tax record management, and Dumangas for the annual fixed tax for delivery trucks and vans.

The municipality of Batad was also recognized as the top performer for the early submission of electronic statement of receipts and expenditure (e-SRE) reports and its outstanding e-SRE focal person Suzette Caspillo.

Oton’s real property tax focal person, Loida Tondo, was also hailed as the best in the entire province.

For special awards, Mina Mayor Rey Grabato bagged the Hall of Fame Award in the early submission of E-SRE reports and the municipality with most active E-SRE focal person.

Bingawan and Sta. Barbara were also elevated to the Hall of Fame for being the top performers in the prompt remittance of provincial tax shares and collection of real property tax for three consecutive years, respectively.

Pavia also gained the excellence award in the collection of annual fixed tax for delivery trucks and vans. (Jezza A. Nepomoceno)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!