Cebu’s elite join Hinunangan race

TOURISM. Organizers of the 2nd Hinunangan Half Marathon hope runners who visit their town will also explore the tourist spots in their town after the event. (SunStar photo / Richiel S. Chavez)

CEBU’s elite runners will join 1,000 other participants in the second edition of the Hinunangan Half Marathon on June 23, 2019 in Hinunangan, Southern Leyte.

The event, which is part of the 166th Founding Anniversary of the Municipality of Hinunangan, will shell out a total of P303,000 in cash prizes for the winners in the 21K, 12K, 6K, and 3K categories.

“The fun run marks the start of our founding anniversary celebration. We welcome everyone in our place, including the Cebuano runners who will be there to participate,” said Hinunangan Mayor Reynaldo Fernandez during the Scoop Forum on Thursday.

Fernandez was joined by Sangguniang Bayan member Gary Comeling, Board Member Roland Bacoy, SK Federation president Louvelle Leen Pelin and race director Joe Deresas.

Bacoy said the fun run also aims to promote sports tourism in Hinunangan.

“The runners can also explore Hinunangan after the race. Our place has a lot of tourist spots to offer: we have the twin-island where you can dive, snorkel and experience the crystal clear water. You can also visit the fish sanctuary and do hiking,” he said.

Comeling said it was the success of the inaugural event that prompted them to do the race again.

“This is going to be an annual event for us,” said Fernandez. “The runners in our place became more motivated in their training because we now have a fun run.”

“We need events like this to promote socialization and physical well-being of the youth and also to help them stay away from vices,” said Pelin.

Deresas said runners from Cebu, Davao and even from Metro Manila are going to Hinunangan this weekend.

Cebu’s top runners Prince Joey Lee, Ruffa Sorongon and Azlan Pagay, who are fresh from the Laguna Phuket Marathon 2019 in Thailand, will vie for titles in Southern Leyte.

The men’s and women’s champions in the elite/open division will each win a cool P25,000, while the next four finishers get P20,000, P15,000, P10,000 and P5,000, respectively. The sixth to 10th placers will also win P1,000 each.

The champions in the men’s and women’s 12K will win P10,000 each. (RSC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!