Top taxpayers, outstanding civil servants recognized

THE City of Bacolod marked the 81st Charter Day anniversary on June 18, 2019 with a celebration highlighting the recognition of the top taxpayers and outstanding civil servants in rites held at the lobby of the Bacolod Government Center as graced by top Senator Cynthia Villar.

This is the first celebration that fell on June 18 as prior celebrations for decades were annually held on October 19, the day which the city was inaugurated with the presence of Commonwealth President Manuel L. Quezon.

The June 18 marked the signing into law of the Cityhood of Bacolod and but the present leadership finds June 18 as a valid day to celebrate the birth of the Cityhood of Bacolod while October 19 was the inauguration of the cityhood of Bacolod.

Meanwhile, the City Government of Bacolod awarded its Top Taxpayers for 2018 and Outstanding City Hall Employees.

Mayor Evelio Leonardia gave special citations to individuals and groups for their valuable contribution that brought fame and honor to the city.

Bacolod Rep. Greg Gasataya, Vice Mayor El Cid Familiaran, councilors Em Ang, Renecito Novero and Bartolome Orola, and councilors-elect Simple Distrito and Archie Baribar, and officers of the Rotary Club of Bacolod assisted Mayor Leonardia in giving the awards.

The Top Taxpayers for 2018 were:

Business (Individual) were Jerry Sy of the Silver Dragon Construction and Glass Supply; Ofelia Lacson Montelibano, Felicia’s Retail and Pastry Shop; Manuel Po of LJP Trading; Pio Escala Villaester - GPM Trading and Alvin Yu - Bacolod Triumph Hardware.

For Business (Corporate), the awardees were Mainstream Business, Inc.; SM Prime Holdings, Inc.; Freemont Foods Corp. (Jollibee); San Miguel Brewery, Inc. and Neo Foods Corp. (Jollibee).

For Real Property (Individual) awardees include Jose Antonio Alonte, Jr. of Bacolod Real Estate Development Corp. (BREDCO); Stephanie Chiu of Diamond Marketing; Rolando Corona Jr. of Mt. View Subdivision; Catherine Ong - Diamond Marketing and Nilbert Lamata - Sharina Heights.

For Real Property (Corporate), the awardees were Coca-Cola FEMSA Phil. Inc.; SM Prime Holdings Inc.; Philippine Airlines; Dynasty Management and Development Corp. and SM Mega Holdings.

The awardees received plaques from Bacolod officials assisted by City Treasurer Giovanni Balalilhe.

Meanwhile, the outstanding City Hall employees for Supervisory Level were Ma. Luisa Esmeres of Homesite and Housing Regulation Officer III of the Bacolod Housing Authority and Edmund Neil Mamon - Draftsman III of the City Planning and Development Office and Nolito Langreo of Light Equipment Operator of the City Engineer’s Office for Non-Supervisory Level.

The three awardees each received plaques and P12,000 in cash from the city government.

The Search for Outstanding City Hall Employees was in partnership between the City Human Resources Management Office, headed by Erman Aguirre and the Rotary Club of Bacolod.

The Rotary Club of Bacolod gave tokens to each of the nominees namely: For Supervisory Level: Mary Ann Quiachon of the Bacolod Housing Authority, and Ramel Palalon of the Department of Public Services; Non-Supervisory Level: Edwin Amago and Merly Leyes, both of the Department of Public Services, and Jose Marie Ballados of the City Engineer’s Office.

Those who received a Mayor’s Special Citation were councilors Em Ang, Caesar Distrito, and Sonya Verdeflor who are outgoing councilors.

They were recognized for their valuable service to the people of Bacolod through the many committees they chaired for the last nine years.

Also Julio Miguel Zapata for winning gold medal at the 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Federation Championships in Manila in May 2019; Leigh Andee Rodriguez – for winning gold medal at the 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Federation Championships in Manila in May 2019; Andrea Zolayvar – this 97-year-old former City Hall employee was recognized for her long-standing service to the City of Bacolod in various capacities for more than six decades under 13 mayors; MassKara Festival contingents to Andong City, South Korea— The 10 MassKara dancers to Andong, namely Airick Bayking, Alvin Cardiente, Eduardo Cautibar Jr., Alanel Cordero, Marlon Imperial, Jesus Surell, Argie Tacadao, John Rey Tonogbanua, Jerick Urbina, and Jestoni Valor were given citation for winning the bronze medal at the World Mask Dance Competition in 2018, where they competed against 12 other international mask dance teams.

Also the MassKara Festival contingents to Daegu City, South Korea – The 21 dancers in Daegu, namely, Segundo Jesus Cabalcar Jr., Prince Alain Adle, Alulod, Airick Bayking, Joenel Buenoventura, Cardiente, Casabuena, Alanel Cordero, Denver Diocson, Jasper Mae Diocson, Ramylito Emperado, Lamirez, Lopez, Nestie Nemes, Aljon Ramos, Kate Redimo, Regalado, Suspene, Argie Tacadao, Jestoni Valor, and Eduardo Yanos Jr. were recognized for representing Bacolod in the 2019 Daegu Colorful Festival, and for winning as champion in the best foreign group category, besting 21 other foreign countries; MassKara Festival contingents to Ulsan City, South Korea— The seven-member contingent to Ulsan, namely John Rey Alulod, Alvin Cardiente, Joedem Casabuena, Mark Philip Lamirez, Richard Lopez, Jay Ar Regalado, and Billy Rey Suspene, was the only foreign team invited to perform at the Maduhee Festival in June 2019, the first time in its 320-year history that a foreign group was invited to perform there; Wilson Gaviola Jr. - a product of the Bacolod Boys Home, and now a member of Urban Flow Rap Group of Manila, for his contribution as musical artist and composer.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!