MANILA -- The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has finally introduced badminton as demonstration sport in the 85th Season held recently at the Badminton Hall of the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex (RMSC).

The event was made through the efforts of College of St. Benilde’s Henry Atayde, member of the NCAA Management Committee (MANCOM) despite the lack of funds.

Nine schools competed for the very first title which include: St. Benilde, Letran, San Beda College, Arellano University, Angeles University Foundation, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Mapua, Jose Rizal University and San Sebastian College.

Newcomer Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) bagged the senior’s division title against St. Benilde in the finals, while CSB-La Salle Green Hills and the CSB Lady Blazers won the junior’s and women’s championships, respectively.(Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)