Oro's Memorial chessfest expects 50 teams at Ketkai

CAGAYAN DE ORO. Former "FEU Boys" from Cagayan de Oro: (L-R) Antonio Chavez Jr., Alfredo Rapanot Jr., Lennon Hart Salgados and IM Richelieu Salcedo III also come in full force to beef up the host team against Davao in the Goodwill Match and to vie for honors in the 2nd Robert Tan Memorial Cup. (Supplied Photo)

WITH the 5th Mindanao Goodwill Chess Match now underway at Limketkai Mall, organizers of the 2nd Robert Tan Memorial Cup expect around 50 teams from around the country to vie for honors in the cash-rich team chess competition, which opens Saturday, June 29.

National Master Rustum Tolentino said the two-day tourney will have teams from Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao to be spearheaded by the country's top pawnpushers such as Grandmasters Darwin Laylo and Rogelio Antonio Jr., GM-elect Ronald Dableo, GM candidate Oliver Dimakiling and International Master Emmanuel Garcia.

"Of course, naa sab atong mga local talents nga pang-champion gihapon ang tirada sa ilang kampanya," said National Master Roly Tan of the sponsoring Goldcrest Marketing Corporation (GMC), referring to NMs Levi Mercado and Tolentino, Johnnel Balquin, Nazario Ubanan and the now Manila-based International Master Richelieu Salcedo III, Lennon Hart Salgados, Christian Arroyo, Allan Cantonjos, Antonio Chavez Jr. and Alfredo Rapanot Jr. At least 40 sets of wooden boards and pieces, as well as DGT clocks have been prepared to make the two-day event more convenient.

Also, two giant screens will be installed for the live streaming of the Fide-rated chessfest, offering P420,000 in total cash prizes for the individual event and the "tatluhan" team rivalry.

For a warm-up, the Mindanao Goodwill Chess Match on 16 boards will start 10 a.m. today at the Green Lane 2nd floor of Limketkai Mall with no less than Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar S. Moreno among the invited prominent guests.

“Yes, we invited the city mayor (Moreno) to share inspirational message with the participants before the ceremonial moves and drawing of lots,” said CDO-MisOr team skipper Fr. Vic Arellano.

Here’s the official lineup for Cagayan de Oro-Misamis Oriental Team: The Regulars are 1. IM Richelieu III Salcedo – 2300, 2. NM Rustum Tolentino - 2324, 3. NM Levi Mercado – 2244, 4. Lennon Hart Salgados – 2264, 5. Allan Cantonjos – 2260, 6. Johnnel Balquin – 2231, 7. Christian Arroyo – 2169, 8. Alfredo Rapanot – 2149, 9. Nazario Ubanan – 2144, 10. Antonio Chavez, Jr. – 2168.

Oro’s Executives: 11. Jaime Joshua Frias – 2079, 12. Cleto Vasquez – 2028, 13. Mario Arroyo - 2023, 14. Resurreccion Gunayan, Jr. - 1884, 15. Domingo Oga, Jr. – unrated, 16. Fr. Vic E. Arellano – unrated. Team Captain: Fr. Vic E. Arellano.

Comprising Davao Region Team Regulars: 1. IM Oliver Dimakiling 2396, 2. FM Austin Jacob Literatus 2356, 3. NM Macacuna Macala 2213, 4. NM Alex Lupian 2122, 5. AGM Henry López 2259, 6. Jayson Salubre 2298, 7. Aglipay Oberio 2253, 8. Jimmy Dano 2225, 9. Carl Zirex Sato 2140, 10. John Ray Batucan 2104. With their Executives: 11. James Infiesto 2189, 12. Rhynan Arce 2038, 13. Allan Diez 1997, 14. Darwin Bermudez 1952, 15. Jose Dionisio Guevarra 1935, 16. Alfredo III De Veyra 1913. Team Captain is Engr. Allan Diez.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!