New council forms committees

NEWLY-INSTALLED council members met for the first time during the regular session on Monday, July 1, to delegate assignments to the various committees.

The committee on appropriation and finance will be headed by Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan while the committee on barangay affairs will be led by Councilor Michael Lawana with members-councilors Lila Fariñas and Francisco Ortega VI.

The committee on education, culture and historical research will be chaired by first term councilor Vladimir Cayabas with members Levy LLyod Orcales, Mylen Yaranon and Fariñas.

Councilor Arthur Allad-iw will head the committee on employment, livelihood and cooperatives and persons with disabilities with member-councilors Orcales, Philian Weyan–Allan and Fred Bagbagen.

The committee on ethics, government affairs and personnel will be chaired by Councilor Isabelo Cosalan with members Allad-iw and Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan while the committee on health and sanitation, ecology and environmental protection will be chaired by Councilor Joel Alangsab with member’s Orcales, Benny Bomogao and Elaine Sembrano.

Francisco Ortega VI will head the committee on public protection and safety, peace and order with members Cayabas and Olowan while the committee on laws, human rights and justice will be led by Betty Lourdes Tabanda with members Bagbagen and Bomogao.

The committee on market, trade, commerce and agriculture will be chaired by Weygan–Allan with member Sembrano and Alangsab while the committee on public utilities, transportation and traffic will be led by Bomogao with members Alangsab and Allad–iw.

Yaranon will still head the committee on public works with members Sembrano, Cosalan and Lawana while the committee on social services, women and urban poor will be chaired by Farinas with members Orcales, Tabanda and Olowan.

Sembrano will lead the committee on tourism, special events, parks and playgrounds with members Lawana and Weygan–Allan while the committee on urban planning and housing is now led by Bagbagen with members Tabanda and Yaranon.

Orcales will head the committee on youth, welfare and sports development with members Ortega VI and Cayabas.

Cayabas will also represent the city in the local school board while Alangsab is the designated representative in the city health board. The personnel evaluation board will be represented by Cosalan while the Peoples Law Enforcement Board will be led by Olowan.

The Baguio City Tourism Council will be represented by Sembrano while the Weygan–Allan will be part of the Baguio City Market Authority.

The committee on city land needs identification survey will have Bagbagen while the sisterhood and twining committee has Sembrabno with the peace and order council having Ortega VI as representative.


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.