Bacolod councilors get final committee assignments

THE members of the 10th City Council of Bacolod got their committee chairmanships during their inaugural session Wednesday, July 3.

Councilor Cindy Rojas, who was elected as number 1 councilor, was chosen as chairperson of committee on appropriation and finance, and committee on health and sanitation.

Councilor Renecito Novero was also chosen as floor leader and chairperson of committee on education; committee in urban poor, housing and resettlement; and committee on trade, commerce and industry.

Councilor Elmer Sy was named chairperson of committee on public works and committee on fire, natural disasters and calamities; and Councilor Dindo Ramos, chairperson of committee on laws, ordinances and good government; committee on fisheries and aquatic resources; and committee on transportation and traffic.

Councilor Bartolome Orola Sr. was named chairperson of committee on markets and slaughterhouse, and committee on government assets.

Councilor Ana Marie Palermo was named chairperson of committee on social services and development; committee on women and gender; and committee on labor, management relations and overseas workers.

Councilor Lady Gles Gonzales-Pallen was named chairperson of committee on barangay affairs, while Councilor Ayesha Marie Villaflor was named chairperson of committee on youth, Sangguniang Kabataan Affairs and Sports Development.

Councilor Israel Salanga was appointed chairperson of committee on tourism and local, national and international cooperation, and committee on cooperatives and livelihood programs.

Councilor Archie Baribar was named chairperson of committee on urban planning and development and general services; committee on senior senior citezens and veterans affairs; and committee on energy and public utilities.

Councilor Al Victor Espino was named chairperson of committee on information and communication technology; committee on police matters, peace and order, and illegal drugs; and committee on ways and means.

Councilor Carlos Jose Lopez was chairperson of committee on environment and ecology, and committee on agriculture and agrarian concerns; Councilor Simplicia Distrito, chairperson of committee on family and child care development and committee on human resource development; and Councilor Gamboa Jr., chairperson of committee on history, culture and arts, and committee on human rights.

Rojas said she is thankful to her colleagues for their trust to chair the committee on finance.

“It’s new and very challenging committees so I will do my best. This will be exciting on my second term. I’m given a very big responsibility to chair the committees,” she said.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!