A BIGGER Miners Cup basketball invitational tournament is in the works after its successful inaugural run last year which saw five teams from the city in the first 18 and under basketball tournament.

Three brackets are lined up in the tournament which is expected to lure top collegiate basketball teams in Baguio City and Benguet with the addition of the open bracket which will also include the women’s division and the retention of the 18 and under division for high school students.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

The tournament was organized to provide a venue for young basketball players to experience competitive play and allow them to further develop their skills.

The tournament will be a single round robin with the top four teams advancing to the semi-final round and with the top two teams enjoying a twice-to-beat advantage.

The tournament is backed by CLUB 7882 SLU – Boys High School, Gary Lee Leighton, Smart Telecommunications, Leverson Brothers, Chittick Fire and Security Services and Connex.

For the 18 and under category, each team will be composed of at least 15 players and a maximum of 18 with passerelle rules of play applying.

For the first, second and third quarters, a team will have a roster with a maximum of six players each which will be submitted to game officials five minutes before the start of the game.

Changes in the submitted combinations will not be allowed. Substitutions only among the six players in the quarter may be allowed.

Any combination of players will be allowed only in the fourth quarter.

Players should be currently enrolled in high school. As proof, a certification of enrolment from the school’s Registrar or a photocopy of the Form 137 must be submitted together with documents proving the player is under 18 years old as of Feb. 28.

Players turning 18 years old after Feb. 28 will still be eligible to play.

In the women’s category, each team will be composed of a maximum of 15 players who may all be fielded during a particular game.

In the open men’s division, each team will be composed of a maximum of 15 players who may all be fielded during a particular game. The division allows current and former college varsity players to join teams.

However, the number will be limited to a maximum of four members per team. This limitation will apply to current and former varsity players who played in either the Baguio – Benguet Educational Athletic League and other collegiate leagues after Dec. 31, 2001.

Players who were with varsity status before and only until Jan. 1, 2002 are not covered by the limitation.

Interested teams may contact the organizers for more details and clarifications at (0910)413-5258 and (0922)680 - 3153. (Roderick Osis)