MANILA -- The FEU Tamaraws' woodpushers swept the eliminations to claim both the men’s and women’s crowns of the 72nd UAAP chess tournament Sunday at the University of Santo Tomas campus.

The Tamaraws composed of Lyndon Sombilon, Sheider Nebato, Luffe

Magdalaga, Antonio Chavez Jr. and Kevin Mirano tallied a total 42 points to capture the coveted title plus historic four-peat title after 3.5-0.5 against the Tigers in the last round Monday.

It was the fourth straight men’s chess crown and 11th overall for FEU, who finished 6.5 points ahead of their closest rival, University of the East (35.5) and 7.6 ahead the third-placing Tigers (34.5).

Meanwhile, 2006 Doha Asian games representative Jedara Docena, Ronna Reigner Senora, Jenny Rose Palomo, Rulp Ylem Jose and Lovelyn Medina amassed a total 31.5 points to bag the title in the distaff side.

In the juniors division, Adamson foiled FEU's historic sweep in three divisions (men's, women's and juniors) after notching 36.5 points, only half-point ahead of FEU's 36 points. (Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)