A ‘high tech’ and consultative LMP under Mayor Frasco

“CONSULTATIVE and policy-driven” is how Liloan Mayor Christina Garcia-Frasco envisions the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) Cebu chapter under her leadership.

Frasco, the daughter of Gov. Gwen Garcia, is the first woman mayor to be elected as president of the LMP local chapter.

No one stood up to challenge her candidacy. She got a unanimous vote from the 35 chief executives who were present during the election proper of the LMP assembly at the Casino Español in Cebu City on Friday, July 12, 2019.

“I am very happy that the mayors have given me their trust and support, that they elected me as president of the league,” Frasco said.

Frasco, a lawyer, wants to make the LMP consultative so that all the town mayors in the province could come together with solutions to the challenges they are facing.

These solutions will then be presented to concerned offices of either the Provincial or National Government.

“It would be a policy-driven LMP that seeks to establish its voice in the province and in the national level as far as effecting the necessary changes and legislation that would further strengthen our local government is concerned,” Frasco said.

Aside from this, the mayor also wants to launch a website and mobile application that will serve as a reference for mayors on governance-related concerns.

“I think it’s also important to bring the LMP to the digital age so we will be introducing innovations,” Frasco said.

She added that she will personally lobby for all 44 chief executives to fully support the administration of her mother, Gov. Garcia.

During the assembly, Frasco’s colleagues authorized her to choose and appoint who will complete the LMP’s new set of officials.

Balamban Mayor Aex Binghay will serve as vice president for external affairs.

Frasco’s uncle, Barili Mayor Marlon Garcia, will sit as vice president for internal affairs.

San Fernando Mayor Lakambini Reluya and Cordova Mayor Mary Therese “Teche” Sitoy-Cho, on the other hand, will continue to serve as secretary and auditor, respectively.

Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura will serve as treasurer while Pinamungajan Mayor Glenn Baricuatro will sit as public relations officer.

The board of directors is composed of Mayors Lionel Bacaltos (Sibonga), Allan Sesaldo (Argao), Cesare Ignatius Moreno (Aloguinsan), Noel Dotillos (Borbon), Benjun Mondigo (Medellin), Joannes Alegado (Consolacion), Lito Creus (Malabuyoc) and Mariano Martinez (San Remigio). (RTF)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!