Cayetano elected as House Speaker

(UPDATED) As endorsed by President Rodrigo Duterte, Taguig-Pateros 1st District Representative Alan Peter Cayetano was elected as Speaker of the House of Representatives at the opening of the 18th Congress Monday, July 22.

At the end of a roll call vote, 266 members of the House voted for Cayetano, one registered a No vote, and two abstained.

Manila 6th District Rep. Bienvenido Abante, who was also nominated for the position, received 28 votes.

A total of 297 congressmen were in attendance.

Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco and Leyte 1st District Rep. Martin Romualdez, both contenders of the post as well, nominated Cayetano.

Romualdez was elected as the House Majority Floor Leader, based on Duterte's endorsement.

Davao City 3rd District Rep. Isidro Ungab, who was earlier endorsed by regional party Hugpong ng Pagbabago as their candidate for Speaker, was named chairman of the appropriations committee.

Cavite 7th District Rep. Abraham Tolentino will chair the accounts committee.

Presidential son Davao City 1st District Rep. Paolo Duterte and Davao del Norte Rep. Pantaleon Alvarez, who was ousted as House Speaker in 2018, voted for Cayetano.

The partylist coalition did not vote as one for Cayetano, as previously announced by its president Rep. Michael Romero. Some members voted for Abante.

All Cebuano congressmen representing the seven legislative districts of Cebu province, the two districts of Cebu City, and the lone district of Lapu-Lapu City voted for Cayetano.

Representing Cebu province are Eduardo Gullas (1st District), Wilfredo Caminero (2nd District), Pablo John Garcia (3rd District), Janice Salimbangon (4th District), Vincent Franco "Duke" Frasco (5th District), Emmarie "Lolypop" Ouano-Dizon (6th District), and Peter John Calderon (7th District).

Reelected congressmen Raul del Mar and Rodrigo "Bebot" Abellanosa still represent Cebu City's 1st and 2nd Districts, respectively, while former city mayor Paz Radaza represents the lone district of Lapu-Lapu City.

Duterte announced on July 8 that he was endorsing a term-sharing scheme at the House, with Cayetano serving first and Velasco second.

Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo, in a statement shortly after the President’s announcement, said Cayetano would serve as the House Speaker in the first 15 months and Velasco in the next 21 months. (From a report by Ryniel Berlanga/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!