MANILA -- President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo named Transportation and Communications Secretary Leandro Mendoza as her ad interim Executive Secretary vice Eduardo Ermita who resigned last month to run for congressman of Batangas.

Ermita, who was Press Secretary Crispulo Icban Jr.'s guest at his press conference Wednesday, also announced the appointment of Solicitor General Alberto Agra as ad interim justice secretary vice Agnes Devanadera who is running for congresswoman of Quezon Province.

The President also named Agriculture Undersecretary Bernardo Fondevilla as ad interim secretary of the Department of Agriculture (DA), Marina head Ma. Elena Bautista as new director general of the Presidential Management Staff (PMS), and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda) Deputy director general Rogelio Pijuan as new Tesda chief.

They would replace outgoing secretaries Arthur Yap of the DA, Hermogenes Esperon Jr. Of PMS and Augusto Syjuco of Tesda who all resigned to run for congressmen of Bohol, Pangasinan and Iloilo, respectively. (JMR/Sunnex)