Gonzales is deputy speaker in 18th Congress

PAMPANGA Third District Representative Aurelio Gonzales joined the first batch of 10 deputy speakers elected under the start of the Speakership of Representative Allan Cayetano in the 18th Congress.

Joining him in the House leadership include are Antique Rep. Loren Legarda and CIBAC Party-list Rep. Eduardo “Bro. Eddie” Villanueva.

Others include Reps. Ferdinand Hernandez (South Cotabato); Evelina Escudero (Sorsogon); Conrad Estrella III (Abono Party-list); Prospero “Butch” Pichay (Surigao del Sur); Roberto Puno; (Antipolo City); Aurelio “Dong” Gonzales (Pampanga); Johhny Pimentel (Surigao del Sur); and Luis Raymund Villafuerte (Camarines Sur).

Gonzales was among the early contenders for speakership but gave way to the decision of his party PDP-Laban. Gonzales, a veteran politician, had been deputy speaker for several terms. Gonzales said that he will push for the interest of the people of Pampanga in the 18th Congress.

Gonzales said that he will respect President Rodrigo Duterte’s choice of speaker.

As endorsed by President Rodrigo Duterte, Taguig-Pateros 1st District Representative Alan Peter Cayetano was elected as Speaker of the House of Representatives at the opening of the 18th Congress Monday, July 22.

At the end of a roll call vote, 266 members of the House voted for Cayetano, one registered a No vote, and two abstained.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!