Pablo John Garcia elected as Deputy Speaker

File Photo

CEBU 3rd District Representative Pablo John Garcia was among four lawmakers elected Tuesday, July 30, as Deputy Speakers of the House of Representatives.

Garcia confirmed this in a text message to SunStar. He said he will be representing the Visayas.

"I have not taken my oath. Maybe later tonight," he said.

Garcia is the only Cebuano congressman elected as Deputy Speaker in the 18th Congress.

Other Deputy Speakers elected on Tuesday are Pangasinan 3rd District Rep. Rosemarie Arenas, Sagip Party-list Rep. Rodante Marcoleta and Misamis Occidental 2nd District Rep. Henry Oaminal.

There are now a total of 18 Deputy Speakers in the 18th Congress.

The House earlier elected 14 Deputy Speakers led by Davao City 1st District Rep. Paolo Duterte.

Other Deputy Speakers are South Cotabato 2nd District Rep. Dinand Ledesma Hernandez, Sorsogon 1st District Rep. Evelina Escudero, Antique Rep. Loren Legarda, Surigao del Sur 2njd District Rep. Johnny T. Pimentel, Abono Party-list Rep. Conrado Estrella III, Surigao del Sur 1st District Prospero Arreza Pichay Jr., Antipolo City 1st District Roberto Puno, Cibac Party-list Rep. Brother Eddie Villanueva, Pampanga 3rd District Rep. Aurelio "Dong" D. Gonzales Jr., Camarines Sur 2nd District Lray Villafuerte, Batangas 2nd District Rep. Raneo Abu, Mandaluyong City Rep. Neptali Gonzales II, and Laguna 1st District Rep. Dan Fernandez. (MVI/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!