Bangsamoro endorses Dimaampao to Supreme Court

THE Bangsamoro Parliament, through a resolution approved Monday, July 29, endorsed the appointment of Court of Appeals Justice Japar Dimaampao to the Supreme Court.

The Bangsamoro Parliament said the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has opened the application and recommendation for the Supreme Court justice position vacated by Associate Justice Mariano del Castillo, who retired on Monday, July 29.

The JBC is a constitutionally created body that recommends appointees for vacancies in the Supreme Court, among others.

Dimaampao, a native of Marawi City, is among the nominees the JBC has identified who could fill the Supreme Court vacancy.

The Bangsamoro Parliament noted that Dimaampao is currently one of the senior CA justices having served about 15 years and holds the distinction of being the youngest magistrate ever to have been appointed to the appellate court.

The Parliament said that an expert in taxation and commercial law, Dimaampao has the honor of being the first and only Muslim senior state prosecutor, bar reviewer, professor of law at the University of Santo Tomas, and a member of the University of the Philippines’ Law Center, Committee on Bar Examinations in Commercial Law and Taxation.

“Justice Dimaampao deserves to occupy the seat to be vacated by Justice Mariano del Castillo, not only for his vast experience in the Appellate Court in the review and revision of judgments and orders of lower courts, but also to continue the legacy of being an inspiration and an example for the Bangsamoro People, especially in the recognition of the aspirations of Muslim Filipinos, and the legitimacy of the cause of the Bangsamoro People,” the Bangsamoro Parliament stated in its resolution.

The resolution underscored that Dimaampao exemplifies a dedicated Filipino public servant and advocate of the rule of law from the Bangsamoro, unafraid of abusive governmental powers and adamant in his belief that truth, justice and freedom will always prevail.

The resolution, authored by Amir Mawallil, Laisa Masuhud-Alamia, Anna Tarhata Basman, Don Mustapha Loong, Baintan Adil-Ampatuan, Rasul Ismael and Suharto Ambolodto – all members of the parliament -- was immediately approved on plenary and is co-authored by all members of the Bangsamoro legislature. (Bong Garcia/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!