Unbeaten Gimony captures title in Kadayawan chess

DAVAO. Bhing Joel Gimony, center, wins the championship trophy of the recently-concluded 34th Kadayawan Sports Festival Standard Chess Championship at the Davao Jones Academy Training Center in Buhangin, Davao City. Also in photo from left, tournament director Ronnie Tabudlong, third placer James Catayas, runner-up Wesley Jovan Magbanua and Irish Ortiz of Sports Development Division of the City Mayor’s Office (SDD-CMO). (Photo by Leeroy A. Guzman/SDD-CMO)

BHING Joel Gimony of Asian International School of Aeronautics and Technology (Aisat) swept all his six matches to pocket the 34th Kadayawan Sports Festival Standard Chess Championship title at the Davao Jones Academy Training Center in Buhangin, Davao City, recently.

Third-seeded Gimony outclassed his rivals fifth-seeded Honey Grace Buenafe and fourth-seeded Wesley Jovan Magbanua of Jose Maria College, James Catayas of Davao City Sda Elementary School, Jasmine Rei Amoncio of Davao Wisdom Academy, Aaron Aton of Doña Asuncion Hizon Elementary School

Magbanua placed second, edging five other five-pointers Catayas, Buenafe, top seeded Gino Angelo Asuncion of San Pedro College, second seeded Irish Yngayo of the University of Mindanao and Queen Peralta of DWA via superior tiebreaks.

Winners received prizes in the mixed tournament, organized by the Metro Davao Youth Chess Club, Inc. and presented by the city government of Davao through the Sports Development Division of the City Mayor’s Office (SDD-CMO), along with the best players in each age group.

Christian Anjo Dumogho of Davao Central College and Peralta won the the best under-18 boys and girls titles while Rodel Buenafe and Yngayo were hailed top under-16 boys and girls players, respectively. Juan Ryu Bagonoc of Valencia City Central School and Nathalie Suter of Philippine Nikkei Jin Kai International School shared the best under-14 players honors while Yreil Josh Hernani and Jayvie Marie Antalan romped away with the under-12 best players awards.

The other winners were John Paul Aton of Child of God Learning Center (best under-10 boys player) Monica Lorraine Togonon of Bago Elementary School (best under-10 girls player) and Aaron Aton (best under-eight boys player).

A total of 82 chessers joined the event.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!