Angeles public schools to get free Internet connection

ANGELES City Mayor Carmelo Lazatin Jr. said at least 41 elementary schools and nine high schools in the city will soon have free internet connections, as part of the City Government's program to provide digital education to students in public schools.

Lazatin said public school students will now be connected to the world and this digital education will further enhance their knowledge as they seek higher learning.

"The internet is now an indispensable utility that should be accessed by all of Angeleños," said he said.

The free Wi-Fi connection in all public schools was conceptualized by Lazatin in coordination with Converge ICT Solutions Inc., which agreed to provide Internet connection for free as part of its corporate social responsibility.

"It's our way of giving back to the community where we started," said Dennis Uy, who is originally from Angeles City.

Converge will infuse $1.4 billion in the development of its fiber optic backbones in northern and southern Luzon, some $350 million dollars of which alone will be spent in Angeles City.

Lazatin met with Uy Wednesday afternoon, August 7, at the City Hall.

Uy said he will support the undertakings of the City Government.

For a start, Uy will donate the proceeds from the sale of some 400-kilometer copper wire to the further development of ONA facilities.

Converge ICT is currently taking down the old Internet and cable wires made of copper as the firm shifted to the pure end-to-end fiber optic technology in Angeles City.

Converge is currently laying out its sea cables that will connect it to several islands in the country such as Cebu City.

Among the public schools that will be provided free Internet connection are:

Public Elementary Schools- East District

Abelardo G. Tinio Elementary School - Nepomuceno, Capaya II

Angeles Elementary School - Jesus St., Pulungbulo

Belen Homesite Elementary School - Cabalero, Sto. Cristo

Cutud Elementary School - Barangay Cutud

Don Ambrosio Mendiola Elementary School - Capaya I

Enrica Sandico Elementary School - Maligaya, Pulung Maragul

Mining Elementary School - 5034 Purok 5, Mining

Pandan Elementary School - Magalang Road, Pandan

Pineda-Gutierrez Elementary School - San Vicente, Tabun

Pulungbulo Elementary School - Pulungbulu

San Ignacio Elementary School - San Jose St., San Ignacio, Pandan

Sapalibutad Elementary School - Sitio Cubul, Sapalibutad

Sto. Domingo Elementary School - San Pedro, Sto. Domingo

North District

Dr. C.N. Dayrit Sr. Elementary School - ML Quezon, Lourdes Sur East

EPZA Resettlement Elementary School - Epza, Pulung Cacutud

Marisol Bliss Elementary School - May Flower St., Barangay Ninoy Aquino

Pulung Cacutud Elementary School - Pulung Cacutud

Salapungan Elementary School - Dona Agripina St., Salapungan

Sitio Pader Elementary School - Pulung Maragul

Sta. Maria Elementary School - Elisa St., Balibago

Teodoro P. Tinio Elementary School - Abacan Road, Balibago

Virgen Delos Remedios Elementary School - Sandico St., Virgen Delos Remedios

South District

Apung Guidang Nepo Elementary School - Daves St., Barangay Cutcut

Cutcut Elementary School - Rizal Ext., Cutcut

Don Pepe Henson Memorial School - Sta. Trinidad

Leoncia Village Elementary School - Sto. Domingo

Lourdes Northwest Elementary School - Kalayaan St., Lourdes Northwest

M. Nepomuceno Elementary School - Gail, Cutcut

Sto. Rosario Elementary School - Miranda st., Sto. Rosario

West District

Alberto G. Pabalan Elementary School - 6th St, Balibago

Amsic Elementary School - Purok 3, Amsic

Cuayan Elementary School - #3 Barangay Cuayan

Edilberto M. Ganzon Elementary School - Purok 3, Anunas

Gueco Balibago Elementary School - Don Gueco Corner Rina St., Mt. View Balibago

Malabanias Elementary School - Tamarind St, Malabanias

Pampang Elementary School - P-I Sto. Niño, Pampang

Sapang Bato Elementary School - Camilia St., Sapangbato

Sapang Bato Elementary School- Air Force City Elementary School - Kudiaro St., Air Force City

Sapang Bato Elementary School- Sitio Target Extension School - Sitio Target, Sapangbato

Sta. Teresita Elementary School - Carlota De Leon St, Barangay Sta. Teresita

Tacondo Elementary School - Sampaguita, Margot

Public High Schools

Angeles City National Trade School - Friendship Hi-way, Cutcut

Angeles City National High School - Arayat Blvd., Pampang

Angeles City National High School- Special Science Class - Arayat Blvd., Pampang

Angeles City Science High School - Dona Aurora St., Lourdes Sur East

CM Recto ICT High School - Dona Aurora St, Claro M. Recto

Epza Resettlement National High School - Epza, Pulung Cacutud

Francisco G. Nepomuceno Mem. High School - Citicenter, Pandan

Rafael L. Lazatin Memorial High School (Balibago High School) - PM Pabalan St., Balibago

Sapangbato High School - Aguinaldo St., Sapangbato


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!