Lamut placed under state of calamity due to dengue

AFTER the death of two individuals and the occurrence of a dengue epidemic in 18 barangays, the municipality of Lamut in Ifugao province on Thursday, August 15, passed resolution 2019–10–023 declaring a state of calamity.

The declaration came following recommendations from the municipal health office and a request from Mayor Mariano Buyagawan Jr.

"The data is alarming and showed significant evidence that there is dengue outbreak in the municipality," the resolution said.

According to news reports, Cordillera recorded 4,704 dengue cases, with nine deaths as of August 10.

Apayao with 819 cases; Benguet with 778 cases and four deaths; Abra with 693 cases; Kalinga with 573 cases and one death; Ifugao with 478 cases; Baguio with 384 cases and one death; and Mountain Province with 334 cases and one death.

Under the law, a local government unit (LGU) who declares a state of calamity can access the calamity fund, which is 5 percent of the LGU's annual budget, and can be used for preparedness and response.

From the five percent, 30 percent of it is used for quick response funds accessible to the LGU in addressing the increase of dengue cases.

Although the Department of Health (DOH) in the Cordillera region acknowledge the increase in the number of deaths and those affected by dengue, the agency called on the public to practice the 4S strategy which consists of: Search and destroy mosquito breeding places; Self-protective measures, like wearing long sleeves and using insect repellents; Seek early consultation on the first signs and symptoms of the disease; and, Say yes to fogging if there is an impending outbreak.

Early this month, the DOH requested the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council to convene a full council meeting, after its declaration of a national dengue epidemic.

Based on the DOH Dengue Surveillance Report, Region VI (Western Visayas) had the most number of cases at 23,330, followed by Region IV-A (Calabarzon) with 16,515, Region IX (Zamboanga Peninsula) with 12,317, Region X (Northern Mindanao) with 11,455, and Region XII (Soccsksargen) with 11,083.

Seven out of 17 regions have exceeded the epidemic threshold of dengue in their regions for the past three consecutive weeks, which are:

Region IV-A (Calabarzon) with 16,515 cases.

Mimaropa with 4,254 cases.

Region V (Bicol) with 3,470 cases.

Region VI (Western Visayas) with 23,330 cases.

Region VIII (Eastern Visayas) with 7,199 cases.

Region IX (Zamboanga Peninisula) with 12, 317 cases.

Region X (Northern Mindanao) with 11,455 cases.

Other regions exceeded the alert threshold level, such as Region I (Ilocos) with 4,396 cases; VII (Central Visayas) with 10,728 cases; and BARMM (Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao) with 2,301 cases.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!