Guv urges vice mayors, councilors to work as one

PAMPANGA. Governor Dennis “Delta” Pineda administered the oath to the newly-elected officers of the Vice Mayor's League (VML) and Pampanga Councilors' League (PCL) at the Capitol Executive House on Monday, August 19. (Contributed Photo)

“LET us work together as one, and forget politics.”

Thus said Governor Dennis “Delta” Pineda as he administered the oath to Floridablanca Vice-Mayor Michael L. Galang as president of Vice Mayor’s League (VML), San Luis Councilor Venancio “Asyong” S. Macapagal as president of Pampanga Councilors’ League (PCL) officers, and other officers.

The joint oath-taking ceremony on Monday, August 19, was facilitated by Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Provincial Director Myrvie Fabia, and witnessed by Board Members Cherry Manalo, Olga Frances David Dizon, Anthony Joseph “Tonton” Torres, and ex-officio Board Member Renato “Gabby” Mutuc, Liga ng mga Barangay Pampanga Chapter president.

Pineda, in a speech, urged the new set of officers to set aside politics, and work as one to meet the goals and objectives of their respective leagues.

The governor said the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP), led by Vice Governor Lilia “Nanay” Pineda, is always open to any VML and PCL members who want to raise issues, grievances, and recommendations for the common good of their respective constituents.

“It would be better if you’d know the legislation being undertaken by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan for you to have a grasp of the practices of the council,” he said.

Other VML officers who took their oath are Angeles City Vice Mayor Maria Vicena Vega-Cabigting, vice president; Porac Vice Mayor Charlie O. Santos, secretary general; Apalit Vice Mayor Pedro C. Nucom, treasurer; Arayat Vice Mayor Sixto C. Mallari, Jr., auditor; and Masantol Vice Mayor Epifanio M. Lacap, Jr., public relations officer (PRO).

VML Board of Directors include Gerald Guttrie Aquino, Mabalacat City; Sajid Khan M. Eusoof, Guagua; Jay B. Montemayor, Lubao; Jaime Lazatin, City of San Fernando; Annette F. Balgan, Macabebe; Leonora C. Wong, San Simon; Jonathan DR. Pangan, Mexico; and Norman L. Lacson, Magalang.

On the part of the PCL, other officers are as follows: CSFP Councilor Celestino S. Dizon, vice president; Bacolor Councilor Joel D. Samia, treasurer; Guagua Councilor Benjamin L. Lim, Jr., auditor; Mabalacat City Councilor Krizzanel C. Garbo, Business Manager; Sta. Ana Councilor Arthur M. Diaz, secretary general; and Sasmuan Councilor Ariel S. Sarmiento, PRO. While PCL Board of Directors include Councilors Nelson S. Alonzo, Candaba; Carlito S. Viray, Masantol; Gregorio Maria T. Quiambao, Minalin; Rico H. Sta. Cruz, Sta. Rita; Edmon DC. Simon, Apalit; Joel J. Cruz, Magalang; Myriam M. Lansangan, Sta. Ana; Kenneth T. Nunag, Apalit; Emmanuel S. Santos, Lubao; and Marcos T. Castro, Jr., Mabalacat City.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!