4 rout foes in USC alumni league

THE 2011 Sharks, 1988 Barakos, 1997 Ronins and 2002 Goats won their respective season openers in the University of San Carlos (USC)-North Alumni Basketball Club (NABC) Cebu City Mayor’s Cup 2019 at the USC-North Campus Gym on Aug. 18, 2019.

The Sharks demolished the 2008 Flyboys, 82-62, in Division 3 with Prince Malana leading the way with 16 points, three rebounds and a steal.

The Barakos, on the other hand, outclassed the 1985 Legends, 72-44, in the Senior Division. Edmund Odulio exploded with 18 markers, eight boards, three assists and a steal for the Barakos.

Meanwhile, the Ronins thrashed the Ninety Niners, 75-56, in Division 1. Jake Saturninas dripped 20 points, five boards and three steals.

The Goats also scored an easy win after routing the 2004 Rebels, 81-65, in Division 3.

Joel Dinawanao had 14 markers, six rebounds, two steals and a block for the Rebels.

Mayor Edgar Labella, PBA legend Mon Fernandez and Cebuano basketball star Dondon Hontiveros were the special guests in the opening of the event.

The alumni tournament has a total of 30 teams in four divsions. The Senior division and Division 3 have seven teams each, while Division 1 and Division 2 have eight teams each. (RSC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!