Men to lead fight for women's rights

PAMPANGA. Mayor Edwin Santiago leads the oathtaking of the first set of officers of the all-men organization dubbed "Men Opposed to VAW Everywhere" or Move headed by their president Noel Tungol during the launching of Women's week on Monday, September 9, 2019. (City of San Fernando-CIO)

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO -- The strong move to address and eliminate violence against women and their children (VAWC) takes a new form as an all-men group was formed to boost the fight for women's rights and gender equality.

On Monday, September 9, during the launch of Women's Week, officers of the "Men Opposed to VAW Everywhere" (Move) were sworn into office by Mayor Edwin Santiago.

The Move officers are Malpitic barangay captain Noel Tungol, president; Local Housing and Settlement Division chief Louie Clemente, vice-president; University of the Assumption staff Ryan Fajardo, secretary; Pampanga High School guidance counselor Exequiel Abad Santos, auditor; City Civil Registrar Rimando Umali, treasurer; University of the Assumption staff Denver Desolo and City Information Office staff Jerrold Dizon, PRO Internal; and San Isidro barangay captain Isidro Ber Talao and San Agustin Barangay secretary Dong Cruz, PRO External.

Santiago congratulated the officers for having been entrusted with the votes of their members.

He also challenged them to take part in monitoring and protecting the rights not only of women, but also of other genders in society in support of the city's continuous mechanisms to promote gender equality.

"We strive to make governance gender-responsive through the implementation of programs and policies that enable the participation of the entire community and all sectors," he said.

Meanwhile, other officers of women's groups also took their oath of office.

The new VAWC officers are Nimfa Alcantara of Barangay San Nicolas, president; Jaime Macalino of Barangay Del Carmen, vice-president; Evangeline Pineda of Barangay Alasas, secretary; Prescila Ocampo of Barangay Del Pilar, treasurer; Estrella Busalpa of Barangay Dolores, auditor; and May Bondoc of Barangay Pandaras and Maria Lucia Carreon of Barangay San Pedro, PROs.

Leading the Pederasyon ng mga Kababaihang Fernandino are Zenaida Madriza of Barangay Quebiawan, president; Mercevente Taruc of Barangay Del Rosario and Evangeline Mallari of Barangay Sta. Lucia, vice-presidents for north and south sectors, respectively; Anie Capitli of Northville, secretary; Analyn Mangoranda of Barangay Sto. Rosario, treasurer and committee head on finance; Evangeline Unciano of Barangay Sindalan, auditor; Imelda Mallari of Barangay Baliti, committee head on social services; Leonida Jiao of Barangay Sta. Teresita, committee head on livelihood; Vivian Ventura of Barangay San Agustin, committee head on education, information and mobilization; Chizz Singian of Barangay Dela Paz Sur, committee head on membership and grievance; and Janet Lero of Barangay Maimpis, committee head on election.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!