Batch 2012 tows Batch 2013 in SHAABAA

Players from Batches 2012 and 2013 battle to get the loose ball during their game on Sunday, September 22, 2019. (Contributed photo)

THE 2012-Pioneer Auto Supply trounced the 2013-iPak/Roble Shipping, 62-59, in Division C of the Sacred Heart Ateneo Alumni Basketball Athletic Association (SHAABAA) Cebu Landmasters Cup at the Magis Eagles Arena on Sunday, September 22, 2019.

Batch 2012 got off to a fast start and led by 10, 17-7, after the first and never looked back to prevail over one of the title-contenders in Division C. Former National University standout Dave Wilson Yu led 2012 with 20 points, seven rebounds and three steals while big man Julius Cadavis had a double-double of 11 points and 11 boards.

In other Division C games, the 2015-StorageTown bested the 2009-CrossFit Subtero, 59-54. Court general Arc Gabrielle Araw-Araw had 17 points, eight rebounds and five assists to push 2015 to the victory.

The 2011-Chioson Development Corp. took down the 2010-Casino Ethyl Alcohol, 72-64, as Bradley Bacaltos took charge with 16 points, five rebounds, six assists, two steals and two blocked shots.

In Division B, the 2008-Sunpride Foods, Inc. destroyed the 2002-KJO Prints, 117-71. The writing was on the wall for Batch 2008 as early as the first period which ended with them ahead, 33-8. Prolific guard Ed Macasling fell two rebounds short of a triple-double as he had 26 points, eight boards and 10 assists. Wendell Go also had a brilliant game as he produced nine points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists and an incredible seven steals.

Batch 2004 put a stop to 2005-Bizol, 85-78, as Franco Te and Ervin Lopena combined for 50 points, the former scoring 29 and the latter adding 21. Lopena also had six rebounds, six assists and five steals to cool off the Elddie Cabahug-led Batch 2005.

The 2007-Topline Ferries also bested the 2006-Laptap Enterprises/Prince Warehouse, 51-47.

Over in Division A, the 1990-Bayfront Hotel won over the 1996-FWD Insurance, 67-53; the 1994-Vivant Corenergy bested the 1998-GEF Incorporated/FWD Insurance, 65-50 while the 1989-ChickPhil edged the 1995-Belaz/Air Spencer, 70-69. (SunStar Cebu)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!