IT’S “The Oscars” of Cebu sports. It’s the one evening of the year’s 365 nights when all the top athletes gather to mingle, swap stories, celebrate and be applauded.

It’s the Cebu Sports Awards this Thursday 6 p.m. at the Casino Español. Jointly organized by the Sportswriters Association of Cebu and San Miguel Beer, our main guest of honor is Mr. Boxing himself, Antonio Lopez Aldeguer, while the Sportsman of the Year, whose identity will be revealed in 48 hours, sports the initials “E.H.”

"The Manny Pacquiao Blog". Click here for stories and updates on the Filipino boxing champ.

The awardees: Presidential: Z Gorres. Orlacsan: Jessica Jawad-Honoridez. Posthumous: Eugene De La Cerna.

MAJOR: Athletics: Daniel Noval, Lindley Fran Navaja, George Pinanonang. Badminton: Ralph Ian Mendez. Basketball: M.Lhuilleir Kwarta Padala-Cebu Ninos, Woodrow Enriquez, JuneMar Fajardo, Gregory Slaughter, Mark Jayven Tallo and the University of the Visayas. Beach volley: (men) USJ-R (Ariel Carumba and Loujei Tipgos); (women) USP (Erika Camille Verano, Apple Saraum).

illiards: Rubilen Amit. Bowling: Jomar Jumapao. Boxing: Johnreil Casimero, Rodel Mayol, Donnie Nietes. Chess: Joseph Sanchez. Dancesport: DTCC, Charlea Lagaras.

Golf: Irina Gabasa. Judo: Vicente Fernandez III. Karatedo: Lutche Metante, Noel Espinosa. Karting: Jette Calderon, Juan Antonio Carcel. Mixed Martial Arts: Deftac Cebu. Pencak Silat: Marniel Dimla. Running: Mendel Lopez, Mary Grace de los Santos, Leszl Gitaruelas. Sepak Takraw: Metodio Suico, Gene Mark Saavedra, Harrison Castañares, Jerome Vendiola.

Swimming: Loren Dale Echavez, Paula Abigail Vega, Anthony Linn Navarro, Bea Roble. Scrabble: Teodoro Martus, Jr. Table Tennis: Richard Gonzales and Dannel Jay Tormis. Taekwondo: Shaneen Sia.

Triathlon: Noy Jopson, Lorhiz Echavez. Tennis: Sally Mae Siso.

Volleyball: Catmon Elementary School-Girls’ team, USPF- junior team. Weightlifting: Kelle Kaye Rojas, Angelica Lado, Reynante Briones

CITATION: Autocross: David G. Lim. Bowling: Kimberly Lao.

Boxing: Milan Milendo. Baseball: Jesse Bernad. Beach volleyball: Johnrey Sasing. Football: Glenn Ramos, Christian Noel, Paolo Pascual, Carmelo Genco, Abellana National School, Oliver Colina. Mixed Martial Arts: Sabah Fadai, Renault Lao. Motocross: Siegfred Ornopia, Jon-Jon Adlawan.

Running: Cebu Executive Runners Club (CERC), Dr. Potenciano Larrazabal III/Run For Sight Foundation. Sepak Takraw: Cebu Province-Sta. Fe team. Tennis: Larry Antigua, Jacob Lagman, Hannah Espinosa, Sallydine Siso, Bernardine Siso, Adrian Parangan. Volleyball: Talisay City women’s team, Catmon’s women’s team, Mandaue City men’s team, Liloan men’s team.

Weightlifting: Joselito Padilla, Christopher Bureros. Wushu: Mary Stephanie Agbay.

To the awardees, if you have further questions, contact me at 318-0083 or at

TRACK OVAL. Yesterday at the Casino Español, I had lunch with my favorite “non-candidate” for a Cebu City council seat. He’s a doer, a non-politician and owns a resume with accomplishments that include the Sinulog, the Milo Half-Marathon, the Cebu City Olympics, the Milo National Olympics.

Ricky Ballesteros. Unfortunately for us, Ricky is not running for public office. I wish he was. Because few work harder and achieve more results than he. His good news? The Cebu City Sports Center track oval will be rehabilitated and completed—sorry, not before May 10 since there’s an ongoing construction ban, but, Ricky targets—before year-end.

BATAAN. “Hi guys! Just finished the 102 BDM ultramarathon,” said Bro. Carlo Bacalla in his text message last Sunday. “I placed 17 out of 142 runners with a time of 14.38 hrs. The first 45 kms. was tough with km 3 to 7 similar to the Busay climb until Willy’s. The sun was extremely hot from 9 am to 2 pm. Baldrunner has good news for those joining BDM next yr: it will be 140 kms!”

“John, I finished!” texted Haide Acuña. “Number 88 out of 103 finishers. 17:40 or with 20 mins. to spare. I blacked out as soon as I crossed the tape. It was madness, I won’t do it again.”

The event: the Bataan Death March 102. 102? That’s 102 kilometers! More on this soon.