Corpus Christi, XU share top honors

CAGAYAN DE ORO. The Corpus Christi Knights strike a pose with Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar Moreno, former PBA coach Ryan Gregorio and the rest of the MYBL officials after defeating Xavier University, 86-39 in the final on Sunday at the Corpus Christi gym. (Wowel Condeza/CIO)

CORPUS Christi School displayed its might and supremacy after bagging gold medals in both 12-under and 18-under categories while Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan captured the 15-under category in the first-ever Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation Youth Basketball League last Sunday at Corpus Christi gym, Cagayan de Oro City.

In a thrilling 18-under finals match, the heftier, taller Knights subdued the much smaller but spirited run-and-gun style of play of Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori in overtime, 116-107.

Corpus Christi duplicated its feat as it walloped Xavier University, 86-39, in the 12-under championship game. However, Xavier University turned back the table against the Knights as it claimed the gold medal in the 15-under category, 81-70.

Bronze medals went to Bethel Baptist Christian Academy (12-under), Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori (15-under) and Southern Philippines College (18-under).

Named as “Finals Most Valuable Player” was Iawe Dave Bustamante (Corpus Christi School) while “Season MVP” were Auri Theodore Guayan (12-under, Xavier University), Laurence Roda (15-under, Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori), and John Ramos (18-under, Xavier University).

Selected in the “12-under Mythical Five” were Auri Theodore Guayan (Xavier), Alberto Labandero Jr (Sacred Heart), Charles Olango (Corpus), Krowsy Nino Tagocon (Sacred Heart), and Jude Brylie Borbe (Xavier).

Composing the “15-under Mythical Five” were Laurence Roda (Sacred Heart), Angelo Roxas (Spearheads), Jhokins Lanzadares (Sacred Heart), Charles Harvey Quipa (Spearheads) and Hanz Nicole Pestano (Corpus).

John Ramos (Xavier), Jember Bacadon (St Joseph Academy), Jadaimer Cabanez (SPC), Jean Pierre Gaston (Corpus) and Kyle Laguitao (STI) completed the ‘18-under Mythical Five’.

Named as “Defensive Players” were Alberto Labandero Jr (12-under, Sacred Heart), Angelo Rojas (15-under, Spearheads) and John Carl Cabuga (18-under, STI).

Manny Diaz (12-under, Xavier), Carlo Dagalea (15-under, Corpus) and Edgardo Dacoco (18-under, Sacred Heart) won as “Best Coaches”. “Best Referees” were Xerxes Cabason (12-under), Ruel Estroga (15-under) and Arnold Estroga (18-under).

Mayor Oscar Moreno, MVPSF Executive Director Coach Ryan Gregorio, MVPSF Community Sports and Youth Dev’t Head Atty Jang Moreno, Ms Maita David of MVPSF Marketing, Ms Yvette Ruiz of Smart Commuications and Stephen Dacoco, MYBL Program Director, led the awarding ceremony.

The tournament was supported by the city government, Smart, Cebu Landmasters, Pagcor, Balibago Waterworks System, kagamhanan sa syudad, Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas, CORDS, CDO Basketball Federation and PLDT. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!