3 MisOr towns fail, Oro gets 'medium compliance" rating

Photo courtesy of CIty Information Office

THREE towns in Misamis Oriental have failed to comply with President Rodrigo Duterte's order to clear public roads of obstructions while Cagayan de Oro City received a rating of between 81 and 90 percent or "medium compliance."

Based on the assessment and validation ratings of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) as of October 8, the municipalities of Balingoan, Manticao, and Tagoloan, got failing marks, or compliance ratings of 70 percent and below.

The towns of Binuangan, Claveria, Jasaan, Lagonglong, Laguindingan, Sugbongcogon, Talisayan, Villanueva, and El Salvador City were listed for "low compliance", or a rating between 71 and 80 percent.

"Medium compliance" or a rating from 81 to 90 percent was given to Gingoog City and the municipalities of Alubijid, Balingasag, Gitagum, Initao, Medina, Opol, and Salay.

Towns which were cited for "high compliance”, with a rating of 91 to 100 percent, are Kinoguitan, Libertad, Lugait, Magsaysay, and Naawan.

The DILG gave Cagayan de Oro City a "medium compliance" rating.

DILG-Northern Mindanao Director Arnel Agabe said LGUs which got failing marks should explain and will still have to comply with the order.

"It does not mean nga humana, dili na magpadayon ang clearing operations, padayon gihapon pero turn-over na dapat sa barangay ang pag-maintain sa na-clear na nga road,"Agabe said.

The DILG said the nationwide road clearing efforts by LGUs have been "generally successful" as only 97 out of the 1,245 LGUs all over the country have been found to be non-compliant.

“I want to express my happiness for the commitment and active participation by LGUs across the country towards this campaign. Sa kabila ng mga balakid at pagsubok na kanilang dinaanan, masasabi ko pong malaking bahagdan o porsyento ng mga pamahalaang lokal sa bansa ang nakiisa sa ating layunin. Salamat po sa inyo!,” DILG Secretary Eduardo M. Año said.

The DILG will issue Show Cause Orders to 97 non-compliant LGUs or those that failed.

The DILG Secretary said the 97 non-compliant LGUs are given five days from receipt of the Show Cause Orders to explain their non-compliance, otherwise the DILG will have no recourse but to submit their names to the President and file the necessary complaints before the Office of the Ombudsman.

Of the 97 LGUs, 11 are from Ilocos Region, one each from Cagayan Valley and Central Luzon, seven from Mimaropa, 10 from Bicol, one from Western Visayas, 12 from Central Visayas, nine from Eastern Visayas, 18 from Zamboanga Peninsula, 13 from Northern Mindanao, three each from Davao and Soccsksargen, and four each from Caraga and Cordillera.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!