Arbois, Patricio bag 21K titles

21K WINNERS. Men's 21K champion Arlan Arbois, Jr., first row center, joins other top 10 finishers during the awarding rites of the 42nd National Milo Marathon Davao Leg held in an out-and-back from SM Lanang Premier yesterday, October 20. (Macky Lim)

RIZAL Memorial Colleges' (RMC's) top runner Arlan Arbois, Jr. of Tupi, South Cotabato and unheralded Lalaine Patricio of Bukidnon clinched the men's and women's 21K titles, respectively, at the close of the 42nd National Milo Marathon Davao Leg held in an out-and-back course from SM Lanang Premier car park yesterday morning.

Arbois, 22, timed one hour, 11 minutes and 52 seconds to beat next two finishers Reymark Sorianosos (1:20:59) and Joselito Dugos (1:23:29).

"Nalipay ko kay ikaduhang 21K title na nako ni sa Milo (I'm happy because this is my second 21K Milo title)," he said in an interview with Sun.Star Davao. He won his first 21K title in a General Santos City leg before.

Patricio, for her part, clocked 1:41:44 to rule the women's event over veteran Olive Firmeza of Davao City (1:55:32) and Leslie Herrero (1:59:09).

Meanwhile, Fritz Clarence Lantaco and Emar Human Environmental College's Diana Mae Memoracion emerged 10K champions. Lantaco registered 34:05 to outrun Arnie Macañeras (36:33) and Jomar Echavariana (36:53) for the men's title.

Memoracion defended the women's 10K crown after checking in at 45:08. She raced past Catherine Arias (50:54) who placed second and Angelic Villanueva (52:50) who came third.

Memoracion said, "Wala ko magdahum nga madepensahan nako ang title. Kanang wala ko kasabot sa akong buhaton kay gahapon palang wala nako ka focus sa dula. Kanang hadlok og kulba akong bation tungod atong linog og aftershock (I didn't expect to defend the title. I was out of focus after the earthquake and aftershocks, I was scared and nervous)."

Thus, reaching the finish line first gave her a sense of comfort.

The rest of the winners: men's 5K - Daryl Mark Daban, first; Aaron Gumban, second; Archie Paran, third; women's 5K - Sharmaine Yonson, first; Stacy Nicole Cañeda, second; Kate Mcdowel, third; boys 3K - Robert Sehon, first; Kenn Pemero, second; Mark Joshua Rabaya, third; girls 3K - Divine Grace Nopal, first; Aprilyn Jaqunap, second; Gernabel Tabog, third.

Over 9,000 runners joined the Davao edition of the annual footrace that was revived this year.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!