Batch 2004 barges into Division 2 finals of SHAABAA

A player from Batch 2008 gets bottled up by the defense of Batch 2004. (Contributed foto)

BATCH 2004 advanced to the finals of Division 2 while 2000-Core Pacific forced a rubbermatch after they destroyed their respective opponents in the semifinals of the 2019 Sacred Heart Ateneo Alumni Athletic Association (SHAABAA) Cebu Landmasters Cup at the Magis Eagles Arena on Sunday, October 20, 2019.

2004 thwarted the 2008-Sunpride Foods Inc., 82-58, while 2000 crushed the 2005-Bizol, 91-74.

Chris Gothong paced 2004 in scoring with 21 points while Franco Te had a double-double of 20 points and 13 rebounds to go with two assists and three steals.

Ervin Lopena also did a little bit of everything, piling up 13 points, nine rebounds, six assists and two steals.

Meanwhile, Serg Al Go Bui continued his string of incredible games, this time producing 28 points, 11 rebounds and five assists for 2000. His backcourt partner, Dave Ting, was just as deadly, scoring 24 points and dishing out 10 assists while Joseph Lo had 13 points and seven boards. Michael Chik added 12 markers, four boards and two assists.

Over in Division 1, the 1990-Bayfront Hotel and the 1999-AutoLAB will be duking it out for the crown after they crushed their semifinal foes.

1990 beat down the 1995-Belaz/Air Spencer, 79-55, while 1999 humiliated the 1996-FWD Insurance, 101 -58.

Theogene Lim had 29 points for 1990, which distributed the ball efficiently, racking up a whopping 30 assists. Dave Lim had nine points and 17 rebounds while Joel Co added nine points, 10 rebounds and nine assists.

Robert Gilo had 27 points and 10 boards for 1999 while Jeremy Huang added 20 points, five boards and two assists. Kent Ong and Merrick Goho contributed 11 points each for the winning side.

Finally, in Division 3, the 2012-Pioneer Auto Supply edged the 2015-StorageTown, 71-65, to make their way to the finals. Julius Cadavis was unstoppable for 2012 with his 24 points and 17 rebounds.

The 2011-Chioson Development Corp. downed the 2013-iPak/Roble Shipping, 73-63, to force a rubbermatch for the last finals ticket in Division 3. Franz Pacheco led the way for 2011 with 17 points, while Bernard Chioson had 14 points, eight rebounds, five assists and six steals. Kiefer Lim also had a solid outing with 12 points, seven rebounds and seven assists. (SunStar Cebu)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!