Lacson leads Cinco de Noviembre celebration

GOVERNOR Eugenio Jose Lacson led the celebration of this year's Cinco de Noviembre in a ceremony held at the Negros Occidental Capitol Park Tuesday, November 5, with the theme, "Pasidungog sa mga Bag-o nga Baganihan sang Probinsya."

One of the highlights of the celebration was the awarding of the 33 Negrense centenarians and the 2019 Outstanding Negrosanons, namely, Rodolfo Reveche (culture and arts), Jesus Antonio Orbida (organic farming), Charlie Co (visual arts), Chef Fernando Aracama (culinary tourism), and Teodoro Locson Jr. (public service).

Each of the centenarians who came from the different towns and cities of the province received P100,000 cash and plaque. They were also enrolled in the Negros Occ. Comprehensive Health Program (NOCHP).

Lacson said everyone has a story to tell and for the Negrenses, "Cinco de Noviembre is our story."

"Today, we remember the patriotism, bravery, courage, the grit and the extraordinary strategy of Gen. Juan Araneta and Gen. Aniceto Lacson in leading thousands of Negrenses in this most historic bloodless revolt to freedom," he said.

He also said that as Negrenses celebrate history, the lives of Negrense centenarians are also celebrated and acknowledged for being true Negrense treasures that should be accorded with respect and appreciation they deserve.

"To the present day Negrense, as we pay homage to the heroes of Cinco de Noviembre, it is our obligation to give back gratitude, not in words but through our actions by being conscientious, active and responsible members of our community and society," he added.

Every November 5 is celebrated as Negros Day and it is a non-working holiday in the province by virtue of Republic Act 6709 which took effect in February 10, 1989.

This day is celebrated to commemorate the Negrenses' revolt against the Spanish colonizers -- a historic bluff that freed Negros from Spaniards.

Meanwhile, a 42K Team Relay was also held as part of today's activities from which a team representing Himamaylan City was declared as champion.

Also present in the celebration were Board Members Agustin Ernesto Bascon, Manuel Frederick Ko, Victor Javellana, Jeffrey Tubola, and Sixto Guanzon, Provincial Administrator Atty. Rayfrando Diaz, Provincial Capitol heads and employees, members of the Philippine National Police, Philippine Army, national government agencies, civil society organizations and non-government organizations. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!