Minpop 2019 in Davao

TEN songs by emerging Mindanaoan songwriters will compete in the very first Mindanao Popular Music (Minpop) songwriting competition slated on February 2, 2020.

Out of more than 200 entries from different parts of Mindanao, the songs that made to the cut are #Buang by Sherwin Fugoso of Jabonga, Agusan del Norte; Bahala Na and Sabihin Mo Lang both by Crissia Jenn Kaamiño of Medina, Misamis Oriental; Bulawan by Miggy Ann Kaamiño of Medina Misamis Oriental; Rason by Kent Charcos of Davao City; Sayaw by Marvin Asis of Davao City; A.M. by Mau Ria Pama of Lupon, Davao Oriental; Balay by Kenneth and Adam Niel Corvera of Tubay, Agusan del Norte; Filters by Sarah Faye Dulaca of Davao City; and Tethered by Marckenny Joshua Bohol of Iligan City.

The 10 finalists were revealed during the official launch of MinPop Music Festival on November 9 at Topaz Tower, Damosa IT Park.

Minpop Music Festival organizer and music mentor Jeremy Sarmiento said the entries were the result of mini songwriting boot camps they conducted in various areas of Mindanao in the past months.

He said the established songwriting competitions like the Philpop inspired the competition.

The Vispop music community in Visayas, particularly in Cebu, also inspired the creation of Minpop or the popular music made by Mindanaoans and the community of these music artists.

"In five years, we really want to make an industry sa Mindanao because nagakabit lang ta sa Luzon and sa Visayas," Sarmiento said.

Minpop Music Festival head and 2018 Philpop songwriting competition grand prize winner Chud Festejo said Minpop hopes to provide avenue for Mindanaoan artists to promote their crafts.

"Daghan nagabuhat og pop music pero wala sila kabalo asa ibutang and sa mga audience wala sila kabalo asa mangita para madunggan ang gibuhat," Festejo said.

"Mahimo ang Mindanao nga naga-provide og songs dili lang sa Mindanao, para sa OPM (Original Pilipino Music) and worldwide," he added.

The final songs will be released on the first week of December 2019.

Sarmiento said the festival will run for three days where the winners will be awarded on the last day.

Winners of the Minpop songwriting competition will receive P100,000 for the grand prize, P50,000 for the second prize, and P25,000 for the third prize.

Sarmiento said they are also working on engaging schools offering Communication courses for the production of music videos for the songs.

The winning songs will also be distributed in Visayas through Minpop's partnership with Kadasig, the group that produced famous Vispop songs like Pero Atik Ra by Jacky Chang.

They are also in the process of forging partnership with national music show Myx Philippines for the promotion of the winning songs.

During the Minpop launch, Himig Handog 2018 songwriting competition grand prize winner Kyle Raphael Borbon delighted the audience of music artists with couple of his original songs, including his winning piece Sa Mga Bituin Na Lang Ibubulong, which was interpreted by JM de Guzman.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!