NCCA calls for Philippine Heritage Awards applications

Arts Awake

THE National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) opens the application for Philippine Heritage Awards.

The Philippine Heritage Awards (PHA) is a conservation recognition program established by the NCCA pursuant to Section 37 of Republic Act 10066 or the National Heritage Act of 2009. Monetary prizes, awards, and citations to exemplary projects and achievements in Heritage preservation and conservation are conferred by the President of the Philippines.

The Philippine Heritage Awards shall be given to groups and/or individuals whose projects have been completed within the last two years prior to the closing date of the applications with exceptions of projects such as school curriculums and tours which are continuously implemented under the Heritage Education and Interpretation category and must be within Philippine territory.

Projects will be assessed against a broad spectrum of criteria on heritage outcome, conservation practices, social and community benefits, sustainability, challenges faced and partnerships demonstrated.

Applications may be submitted in multiple categories:

Adaptive reuse

This category is for projects that utilized buildings, other built-structures and sites of value for purposes other than that for which they were intended originally, in order to conserve the site, their engineering integrity, and authenticity of design.

Conservation – built heritage

This category is for projects that relate to conservation of our built heritage including bridges, government buildings, houses of ancestry, traditional dwellings, quartels, train stations, lighthouses, small ports, educational, technological and industrial complexes, and their settings, and landscapes with notable historical and cultural significance.

Conservation – movable cultural properties

This category is for the restoration and conservation of movable cultural properties.

Safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage

This category is for projects that safeguard native forms, folk forms, oral traditions, usages, customs, languages and other expressions; performing arts; social practices, religious rites, rituals, culinary traditions and festive events; knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe, worship; and traditional craftsmanship.

Heritage education and interpretation

This category is for publications, performances, cultural practices and traditions, events, exhibitions, displays, site interpretations, tours, seminars/workshops/trainings, and multimedia including smart phone apps, websites and social media which emphasize and promote education, interpretation, and community engagement towards the protection and conservation of tangible and intangible cultural properties.

Heritage programs support

This category is to recognize the extraordinary commitment and active involvement of an organization, local government unit, or corporation in supporting heritage programs.

Interested applicants may submit the requirements on or before January 15, 2020 to:


Cultural Heritage Section

National Commission for Culture and the Arts

NCCA Building, 633 General Luna St., Intramuros, Manila


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!