Holidays for 2020 released

SunStar File

MALACAÑANG released on Friday, November 15, Proclamation 845, providing the list of regular holidays and special non-working days for 2020.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed the proclamation on November 15.

It declares the following as regular holidays:

January 1 (Wednesday) – New Year’s Day

April 9 (Thursday) – Araw ng Kagitingan and Maundy Thursday

April 10 – Good Friday

May 1 (Friday) – Labor Day

June 12 (Friday) – Independence Day

August 31 (Monday) – National Heroes Day

November 30 (Monday) – Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Friday) – Christmas Day

December 30 (Wednesday) – Rizal Day

Special non-working days are as follows:

January 25 (Saturday) – Chinese New Year

February 25 (Tuesday) – Edsa People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 11 – Black Saturday

August 21 (Friday) – Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 (Sunday) – All Saints Day

December 8 (Tuesday) – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary

December 31 (Thursday) – Last Day of the Year

Proclamation 845 also declares November 2 (Monday) and December 24

(Thursday) next year as additional special non-working days.

The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of the Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha will be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic Holidays have been determined, in accordance with the Islamic calendar or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations whichever is possible or convenient. (NASE/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!