Cotabato turnovers 63 villages to Barmm

THE Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Barmm) announced that the 63 villages in seven North Cotabato towns are now officially part of Barmm after the ceremonial turnover Wednesday, November 20, held in Cotabato City.

North Cotabato acting Governor Emmylou Taliño-Mendoza led the turnover of the 63 villages and was welcomed by Barmm Chief Minister Murad Ebrahim.

The 63 villages include the following: Dunguan and Tapodoc in Aleosan; Manarapan, Nasapian, Kibayao, Kitulaan, Langogan, Pebpoloan and Tupig in Carmen; Nanga-an, Simbuhay, Sanggadong, Buluan, Pedtad, Simone, and Tamped in Kabacan; Damatulan, Kadigasan, Kadingilan, Kapinpilan, Kudarangan, Central Labas, Malingao, Mudseng, Nabalawag, Olandang, Sambulawan, Tugal, and Tumbras in Midsayap; Lower Baguer, Balacayon, Buricain, Datu Binasing, Kadingilan, Matilac, Patot, Lower Pangangkalan, Datu Mantil, Libungan Torreta, Upper Pangangkalan, and Simsiman in Pigcawayan; and Bagoinged, S. Balong, S. Balongis, Batulaawan, Buliok, Gokotan, Kabasalan, Lagunde, Macabual, Macasendeg, Barungis, Bualan, Bulol, Fort Pikit, Gli-gli, Manaulanan, Nabundas, Nalapaan, Nunguan, Pamalian, Panicupan, and Rajah Muda.

The residents of the 63 villages voted in favor of joining the Barmm in a plebiscite held on February 6, 2019.

Mendoza has asked the Barmm government to take good care of the 63 villages.

Mendoza expressed gratitude to Barmm for supporting her administration as governor of North Cotabato for the last five years.

Ebrahim thanked the people of North Cotabato for their support during the plebiscite. (SunStar Zamboanga)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!