SBMA chief among 'women of the year' awardees

SUBIC Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) chairman and administrator Wilma Eisma received a "Woman of the Year" award, along with five other women leaders, during the recent 2019 Asia Leaders Awards ceremony at the Shangri-La Hotel in Makati City.

Eisma was awarded for excellence in governance by the non-profit organization American Association of the Philippines (AAP), which co-organized this year's awards to acknowledge leaders who promote the Philippines as the premier business hub in Asia and beyond.

Other awardees were Fila president and CEO Cris Albert, Ayala Land Inc. senior manager Mariana Zobel De Ayala, GRBank senior executive VP and COO Elizabeth Timbol, Richprime Global Inc. president and CEO Myrna Yao, and Asian Tigers Mobility VP and CEO Virginia Lane.

Manila Mayor Isko Moreno, on the other hand, was among the recipients of the "Man of the Year" award, along with former Senator Manny Villar and Presidential Spokesman Salvador Panelo.

Eisma expressed gratitude for being recognized for her role as head of the SBMA, which manages the Subic Bay Freeport Zone.

"It is certainly humbling to know that the movers and shakers in the Asian and Philippine business circles view the SBMA as one of the premier institutions significantly contributing to the country's economic growth and stability," Eisma said. "I am deeply honored and grateful."

The award was the latest of several recognition Eisma has received since becoming SBMA chairman and administrator in late 2017.

According to Engr. Grace Bondad-Nicolas, co-founder of the TAG Media Group that organized the event, the Asia Leaders Awards aims to honor various men and women who promote the Philippines as the premier business hub in Asia and beyond.

"We award individuals who not only exemplify great leadership among their peers, but also offer solutions to the problems of the country and our nation, and demonstrate an outstanding achievement for the welfare of other," she added.

AAP chairman Rick Sobreviñas, who was a member of the awards committee this year, said it was "important to recognize the contributions of outstanding leaders who move society forward and find better ways to deliver value to their customers or stakeholders, as well as advance the economic development of our country."

Aside from the "Woman of the year" and "Man of the Year" awards, the major citations given included "Young CEO of the Year," which was sponsored by the Embassy of Malaysia; "CEO of the Year," which was given by the Embassy of Korea; "Businessman of the Year," given by the Philippine Korean Council; and "Entrepreneur of the Year," which was handed out by the Cagayan Economic Zone Authority.

Among those who composed the awards committee for this year were Ambassador of the Republic of Korea to the Philippines Dong Man Han, American Association of the Philippines Chairman Rick Sobreviñas, Deputy Ambassador of Malaysia to the Philippines Rizany Irwan Muhamad Mazlan, Malaysia Chamber of Commerce and Industry Vice Chairman Eric Yam, and Commission on Elections Spokesman James Jimenez. (Ric Sapnu)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!