DATU Bago Awards, the most prestigious and highest award to be given by Davao City government to a resident in recognition of his or her achievements, will finally be conferred at 6:30 p.m. Sunday at The Royal Mandaya Hotel.

One of the highlights of the 73rd Araw ng Dabaw celebration, the award is an accolade for persons of any nationality, living or dead, born in Davao City or who have been residents of the city for at least 10 years.

"The Manny Pacquiao Blog". Click here for stories and updates on the Filipino boxing champ.

To be a Datu Bago awardee, one must have served as a model of excellence and an inspiration to the Dabawenyos and must have demonstrated exemplary competence and dedication in the service towards the city’s development.

Since the Datu Bago Foundation Inc. was instituted in 1969, during the mayorship of Elias B. Lopez, a total of 143 individuals have been bestowed with the said award, including prominent recipients such as Soledad "Nanay Soling" R. Duterte, Antonio O. Floirendo, Ricardo Limso, Tomas Monteverde, Jesus V. Ayala, Emilio Palma Gil, Patria G. Montemayor, Aida Rivera Ford, Msgr. Clovis Thibault, PME, and Archbishop Antonio L. Mabutas.

Joining the honorable roster this year are Alfonso Y. Aboitiz (posthumous award), Dr. Anthony Principe (posthumous award), lawyer Laurente C. Ilagan (posthumous award), and Ms. Lyda Jara-Canson.

City Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte will confer the awards during the ceremonies.

The Datu Bago Awards 2010 will be hosted by Antonio Uy, Datu Bago 1969 awardee, and Mutya ng Dabaw 2009 Resci Rizada.