'Tisoy' makes landfall in Marinduque, slightly weakens

Satellite image from Pagasa

TYPHOON Tisoy slightly weakened after it made its second landfall over Marinduque Tuesday, December 3, said the state weather bureau.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said Tisoy made its second landfall at 8:30 a.m. and is now heading toward Batangas-northern Oriental Mindoro area.

It first made landfall in Gubat, Sorsogon around 11 p.m. Monday, December 2.

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signals (TCWS) over Ifugao, Mountain Province, northern Cebu, Bohol, northern Negros Oriental, Eastern Samar and the rest of Samar were lifted.

But Pagasa said TCWS Number 3 is still hoisted over Burias Islands, Romblon, southern portion of Quezon (Perez, Alabat, Quezon, Mauban, Sampaloc, Lucban, Tayabas, Pagbilao, Lucena, Sariaya, Candelaria, Dolores, Tiaong, San Antonio, Atimonan, Padre Burgos, Agdangan, Plaridel, Unisan, Pitogo, Gumaca, Lopez, Macalelon, General Luna, Calauag, Catanauan, Guinayangan, Tagkawayan, Buenavista, Mulanay, San Narciso, San Francisco, San Andres), Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island, Batangas, Cavite, and Laguna.

TCWS Number 2 is up in Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Albay , Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Metro Manila, Bulacan, Bataan, Tarlac, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, southern Aurora (Dipaculao, Maria Aurora, Baler, San Luis, Dingalan), Rizal, rest of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Calamian Islands (Coron, Busuanga, Culion, Linapacan), Cuyo Islands (Cuyo, Magsaysay, Agutaya), Zambales, Pangasinan, and Masbate including Ticao Islands, Western portion of Northern Samar (Lavezares, Allen, Biri, Rosario, Victoria, San Jose, San Isidro, Bobon, Catarman, Lope de Vega), northwestern portion of Samar (Calbayog, Tagapul-am, Almagro, Sto. Niño) Aklan, Capiz, and Northern Antique (Caluya, Libertad, Pandan, Sebaste, Culasi, Tibiao)

Areas under TCWS Number 1 are: southern Isabela (Palanan, Dinapigue, San Mariano, San Guillermo, Benito Soliven, Naguilian, Reina Mercedes, Luna, Aurora, Cabatuan, San Mateo, Cauayan City, Alicia, Angadanan, Ramon, San Isidro, Echague, Cordon, Santiago City, Jones and San Agustin), Benguet, Nueva Vizcaya, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Quirino, rest of Aurora, and northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay, Araceli, Dumaran) Rest of Northern Samar, rest of Samar , Biliran, northern Negros Occidental (Talisay, Calatrava, Silay, Enrique B. Magalona, Victorias, Manapla, Cadiz, Sagay, Escalante, Toboso, Bacolod, Murcia, Salvador Benedicto, San Carlos, Bago, Pulupandan, Valladolid, La Carlota, San Enrique, Pontevedra, La Castellana, Moises Padilla), rest of Antique, Iloilo, Guimaras, and Leyte.

Pagasa said that as of 10 a.m. Tuesday, December 3, the eye of Typhoon Tisoy was located At 55 kilometers east of Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro, packing maximum winds of up to 150 kilometers per hour (km/h) near the center and gusts of up to 205 km/h.

The typhoon is still moving west at 25 km/h. (LMY/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!