THE PTT Fuel-backed University of the Visayas squads marched to the semifinal round nearly unmolested as they stomped their respective quarterfinals opponents in the 2010 Cesafi/Partners’ Cup Basketball tournament at the Cebu Coliseum yesterday.

The Baby Lancers bounced back from a sloppy start to beat the Lion-Tiger Aerosol/University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF) Baby Panthers, 100-77, while the Green Lancers displayed an array of offensive powers to oust the Prime Asia Lending Corp/Don Bosco Technological College Greywolves, 95-81, in the main game.

Click here for Election 2010 updates

The Green Lancers proved to be a steady force from the start to finish as they withstood the tough challenge thrown by the Greywolves.

But after the tight first quarter, UV started to display supremacy to close the first half carrying a 43-33 lead.

Good fight

The Greywolves put up a good fight with Christopher de la Rama getting into the nerves of UV’s Mark Anthony Manigque.

The frustrated Manigque was slapped with a technical foul at the 5:15 mark of the third when he elbowed Joseph Villaver that allowed Greywolves to draw within, 50-53.

However, the damage was quickly repaired as de la Rama was thrown out of the game for punching Harold Cincoflores at the 3:45 mark igniting a 12-2 run that gave UV a 68-52 lead near the end of the period.


Celso Colegado then tried to save DBTC as he scored 13 of the team’s first 15 points, but his lonesome effort fell into frustration as the Lancers displayed unstoppable game both inside and outside.

Elmer Mykiel Cabahug led UV scorers with 13 markers with Marl Senires contributing 11 and Ralf Olivares finishing with 10. Colegado scored the game-high 19 points for DBTC with John Mark Castro contributing 13.

In the high school match, Lucky Suan led UV scorers with 12 points with Gerald Legarde and Michael Smith finishing with 10 points each. Rommel Diapera scored the game-high 26 points for the losing USPF squad.

UV (95)—EM Cabahug 13, Senires 11, Olivares 10, Cincoflores 9, Sayscon 9, Silva 8, Auditor 8, Perolino 7, Abad 4, Mercader 3, Primacio 3, E. Cabahug 2, Calo 2, Rios 2, Manigque 1.

DBTC (81)—Colegado 19, Castro 13, Aldave 10, de la Rama 7, Villaver 6, Cabrilles 4, Cinco 5, Luminares 4, Hernando 3, Espiritu 3, Tirado 2, Mabala 2, Tecson 1, Guba 1. Quarters: 22-21; 43-33; 68-54; 95-81.