Chooks-To-Go league qualifier teams to receive cash prizes

WHOEVER wins in the Chooks-To-Go National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) League qualifier in Misamis Oriental is already assured of a trouble-free ride to the NBTC Regional Championship in Surigao City on January 30 to February 2, 2020.

This, after host Mayor Gomer Sabio announced on Thursday’s opening, January 16, 2020 at the Tagoloan Dome of Misamis Oriental that he will give close to P50, 000 in total cash prizes to all participants of the eight-team tourney.

Already supported by SM, Chooks to Go, VIVO, PLDT, Gatorade, Darlington and Exped, Mayor Sabio’s pronouncement enlivened the crowd when he declared that the top three team in Tagoloan will receive P10,000, P7,000 and P5,000 while the remaining five teams will receive P3,000 each.

“All teams are happy because even the tail-enders will still be receiving a consolation prize of P3, 000. Of course, the qualifier or the team that will emerge champion is already secured of their transportation allowance to Surigao as host of the regional championship,” Arvin Martinez, NBTC Mindanao Territory head, told SunStar Cagayan de Oro.

While the Tagoloan hosting is the first ever qualifier in Misamis Oriental in 12 years existence of the NBTC League, Tagoloan sports czar Van Halen Parmis said they’re also proud to achieve “something more” in the prestigious event’s inaugural show in the province.

“First time nga na break ang biggest attendance of 3,000 for an NBTC opening across the region with more than 5,000 spectators witnessing today’s (Thursday afternoon) opener here in Tagoloan Dome. First time sab nga adunay cash prizes kay wala na sa uban nga NBTC Leagues nationwide, but it’s Mayor Sabio’s prerogative kay bukal gyod sa iyang kasingkasing nga malipay ang mga bata. Basta ‘Yes To Sports’ lang permi and ‘No To Drugs’ kay mao sab na ang gusto nga mahitabo sa atong Presidente Rodrigo Roa Duterte,” Parmis shared.

Both Opol National Secondary Technical School and Matangad National High School from Gitagum debuted with 82-54 and 56-42 victories over Casinglot National High School and Sta. Ana National High School, respectively, with host team Tagoloan National High School comfortably leading at the half in its own opening round assignment, as of this writing.

Other participants include Rosario National High School(Tagoloan), Bobontugan National High School(Jasaan) and Misamis Oriental General Comprehensive High School (MOGCHS).

NBTC Misamis Oriental Chapter commissioner Archie Ello said the champion of this league will join Cagayan de Oro ruler Southern Philippine College, Bukidnon titlist Infant School of Valencia City and the rest of Northern Mindanao and Caraga qualifiers in the NBTC Regional Finals.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!