Dialogue with drivers, operators moved to Feb. 1

CONSULTATION dialogue with the affected public utility jeepney (PUJ) drivers and operators for the High Priority Bus System (HPBS) will be moved on Saturday, February 1, 2020, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board-Davao Region (LTFRB-Davao) announced.

In an issued circular, LTFRB-Davao director Armand Dioso said the last batch of the dialogue with PUJ drivers and operators, plying within the Poblacion District, will be moved from January 30 (Thursday), to February 1 (Saturday).

The circular was a response to the recent consultation dialogue last January 24 attended by drivers and operators in the Bunawan area, which resulted to several commuters, mostly employees and students, being stranded.

With this, the LTFRB earned the ire from the affected commuters on several social media posts.

Dioso said in a previous report they have anticipated the possible problem and they initially coordinated with a bus company. However, some of the bus units were down last Friday.

He coordinated with LCI and Bachelor Express bus companies to provide bus augmentation for the stranded passengers last Friday and there were at least nine bus units which were deployed from Tibungco.

CTTMO and other government officials have also sent vehicles to provide free transportation for the passengers.

Dioso said they have not noted the same problem in the previous two consultative meetings they conducted for drivers in Toril and Calinan on January 14 and 21 respectively.

Meanwhile, Dioso said drivers and operators are required to attend the dialogue wherein discussions related to the Social Development Program Packages of the HPBS Project will be one of the agenda.

“The operators and drivers are hereby reminded that their failure to comply with this Order will warrant an imposition of penalty pursuant to Paragraph 48 of Memorandum Circular No. 2011-004 otherwise known as the 2011 Revised Terms and Conditions of CPCs in relation to Joint Administrative Order No. 2014-01 or the Revised Schedule of Fines and Penalties for Violations of Laws, Rules and Regulations Governing Land Transportation dated June 02, 2014 and other pertinent Circulars and Issuances,” the LTFRB official said in a circular.

Drivers and operators who were called are those traversing the routes in Doña Pilar – Roxas Avenue; Jade Valley - Buhangin; Bago Gallera – Roxas Avenue; Langub Route; Bago Aplaya – Roxas Avenue; Magtuod Route; Bangkas Heights; Mintal – UP Campus; Bangkal – R. Magsaysay ;Rosalina III, IWWHA – Roxas Avenue; Corner Indangan – NCCC Panacan; Talomo – Roxas Avenue; Davao International Airport – C.P. Garcia Junction; Ulas – R. Magsaysay; Rosalina I – R. Magsaysay Avenue; Ulas - Panacan; Puan – R. Magsaysay Avenue; Wa-an Route; Bangkal – R. Magsaysay; Malabog Route - Buhangin; and Santiago Villas – Roxas Avenue.

Also included are routes traversing in Bo. Obrero; Route No. 14; Route No. 1-A and Route 1; Route No. 15; Route No. 2-A; Ecoland Subd. – SM Ecoland; Route No. 3-B; El Rio Vista Village Route; Route No. 4; Ma-a – Agdao Route; Route No. 5-A; Ma-a - Bankerohan; Route No. 6; Matina; Route No. 7; Matina Aplaya; Route No. 8; Matina Crossing; Route No. 9; Matina Pangi; Route No. 10-A; Route No. 11; Route No. 10-B; Route No. 12; and Route No. 13.

Meanwhile, they also reminded the passengers to travel earlier as the dialogue will be from 8 a.m. until 12 noon.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!