MANILA -- President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo has declared May 10, election day, as special non-working holiday.

Under Proclamation 2020, Arroyo said declaring May 10, a Monday, as holiday, would encourage Filipinos to exercise their freedom and right to vote for the next leaders of the country.

She earlier said that one of her greatest legacies is to ensure honest and clean automated election as she encouraged international observers to monitor the upcoming first ever electronic elections.

She added that the country needs "critical election watchdogs" to safeguard the voters and ensure credible results. (Jill Beltran/Sunnex)